Residents/Fellows - Nursing - Residents Library Guide - Research Guides at University of Nebraska Medical Center

Welcome

This page is for nurses at Children's Hospital & Research Center who are involved in the nursing residency program or who may be working on evidence-based practice resources. To access these resources, you must have a Children's ID or email address (name@childrensomaha.org). If you have volunteer faculty status, review our Faculty and Staff services page on how to get library access.

Information on using the Children's Hospital & Medical Center Virtual Library

Short video on resources and getting to full-text in the Virtual Library

Children's Nebraska Virtual Library: Presentation with clickable links.

Available Resources

The McGoogan Library has partnered with Children's Hospital and Medical Center to create the CHMC Virtual Library. The following resources are available on the CHMC Intranet to anyone with a valid login:

Health Business Elite
PubMed
Cochrane Library
CINAHL Complete
eBooks

For citation management, McGoogan Library supports Zotero. This software is freely available to Children's Hospital and Medical Center employees as well. Visit this Zotero research guide for installation and customization instructions. Your CHMC librarian, Teresa Hartman, thartman@unmc.edu, is also available for individual Zotero support or department classes.

PubMed -- Children's
Children's Online Journals & E-books
Search for online journals and e-books available through Children's Hospital

For questions regarding Virtual Library, or to suggest additional subscriptions, please contact Dr. Russ Buzalko, Director, Medical Education.

Where to find Guidelines & Protocols

Searching for guidelines in the literature? Use these search strategies to add to your concepts and narrow your results to guidelines:

PubMed search strategy for guidelines: (clinical[tiab] AND pathway[tiab]) OR (clinical[tiab] AND pathways[tiab]) OR (practice[tiab] AND parameter[tiab]) OR (practice[tiab] AND parameters[tiab]) OR algorithms[mesh:noexp] OR care pathway[tiab] OR care pathways[tiab] OR clinical protocols[mesh:noexp] OR Consensus[mesh:noexp] or consensus development conference[pt:noexp] OR "Consensus Development Conference, NIH"[pt:noexp] OR "Consensus Development Conferences as Topic"[Mesh:noexp] OR "Consensus Development Conferences, NIH as Topic"[Mesh:NoExp] OR critical pathway[mesh:noexp] OR guidance[tiab] OR guideline*[ti] OR guidelines as topic[mesh:noexp] or practice guidelines as topic[mesh:noexp] or Health Planning Guidelines[mesh:noexp] OR practice guideline[mesh:noexp]

Google Scholar search strategy: intitle:guideline OR intitle:guidelines OR intitle:"position statement" OR intitle:"best practice" OR intitle:consensus OR intitle:algorithm OR intitle:"standard orders" OR intitle:protocol OR intitle:recommendations

Search specific associations like the American Heart Association, American Academy of Pediatrics, etc. to view their guidelines.

American College of Physicians and the American Society of Internal Medicine
ACP-ASIM Clinical Practice Guidelines cover many areas on internal medicine, such as screening for cancer or other major diseases; diagnosis; treatment; and medical technology.
CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines
Canadian Medical Association; a database of evidence based Canadian clinical practice guidelines. Includes 1200 guidelines developed or endorsed by medical or health organizations in Canada. Please note: some resources may only be available to members
ECRI Guidelines Trust
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. ECRI Guidelines Trust replaces AHRQ’s discontinued National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) website.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
Free resource; Evidence Reports, Protocols, and more.
National Comprehensive Cancer Network
Free registration is required before one can gain access to the guideline documents.
Patient Safety & Quality: Evidence Based Handbook for Nurses
Created by AHRQ; a comprehensive handbook for nurses on patient safety and quality
Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) Clinical Practice Guidelines
"The purpose of the Best Practice Guideline program is to support Ontario Nurses by providing them with Best Practice Guidelines for client care." The association provides free online access to most of their guidelines.
U.S Preventive Services
Veteran Affairs & Department of Defense Clinical Practice Guidelines

Library Services

Library services available for those affiliated with Children's Hospital & Medical Center.

UNMC Health Information Service
Information on the UNMC Health Information Service. Information on the service and the online request form.
Interlibrary Loan Service
Request articles & books through Interlibrary Loan. This service allows access to articles that are not available through Children's or UNMC collections, as well as providing a document delivery service for articles in library owned print journals. New users outside of UNMC will need to create an account.
Literature Search Services
Reference librarians will provide free searches for faculty, staff, and students. Searches may be requested for the following databases: MEDLINE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, IPA, and Cochrane. Searches are usually completed within 1 to 2 business days. You can also make the request by either contacting the AskUs Desk via phone or e-mail.
Systematic Review Service
Information on the library's systematic review service, process, and contact information.