Please note that this list of resources is a work in progress, it is not comprehensive and your suggestions and feedback are welcome. Feel free to email any suggestions to Kim Harp, Education and Research Services Librarian, at kimberly.harp@unmc.edu.
Historically, there has been difficulty in defining disability and how to assist individuals with disabilities. Currently, there are two models utilized: medical and social. Resources for each model are discussed below.
Rethinking disability: the social model of disability and chronic disease (article)
Article defines the social model of disability.
Goering S. Rethinking disability: the social model of disability and chronic disease. Curr Rev Musculoskelet Med. 2015 Jun;8(2):134-8. doi: 10.1007/s12178-015-9273-z. PMID: 25862485; PMCID: PMC4596173.
Intervening on disability attitudes through disability models and contact in psychology education (article)-
Article defines the social model and medical model as they pertain to training and educating health professionals.
Bogart KR, Bonnett AK, Logan SW, Kallem C. Intervening on disability attitudes through disability models and contact in psychology education. Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Psychology. 2022;8(1):15-26. doi:10.1037/stl0000194
Resources for health issues facing individuals with disabilities:
National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)- The Georgetown University National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) provides national leadership and contributes to the body of knowledge on cultural and linguistic competency within systems and organizations. Major emphasis is placed on translating evidence into policy and practice for programs and personnel concerned with health and mental health care delivery, administration, education and advocacy.
Employment Discrimination This EEOC webpage explains what constitutes illegal discrimination on the basis of disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act and how to file a complaint.
Job Accommodation Network (JAN) This website provides information for employers, job seekers, rehabilitation professionals, union representatives, and others regarding workplace accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act and other legislation.
Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP) This U.S. Department of Labor website provides information about ODEP's programs, initiatives, and grants.
Ticket to Work This Social Security Administration website provides information about the Ticket to Work and Self-Sufficiency Program, directories of Employment Networks, and other valuable information.
Employer Assistance and Resource Network on Disability Inclusion (EARN). EARN is an Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP)-funded initiative that provides resources to help employers recruit, hire, retain and advance people with disabilities. The website offers information on topics such as finding job candidates with disabilities, disability employment laws and workplace accessibility.
Independent Living Centers (ILCs) Directory
This webpage contains a list of states, with links to each state's directory of their ILCs, which are community-based, cross-disability, nonresidential nonprofit agencies designed and operated within a local community by people with disabilities that provide advocacy, independent living skills training, information and referral, and peer counseling.
Client Assistance Program (CAP)
CAP is the information and advocacy program for people with disabilities who are seeking or receiving federally funded rehabilitation services authorized in the Rehabilitation Act and provided by through specific state/territory grants.
Consortia of Administrators for Native American Rehabilitation (CANAR)
CANAR is an avenue for collaboration and cooperation between Administrators of federally-funded rehabilitation projects and to increase and enhance the quality of services, resulting in positive outcomes for Native Americans with disabilities.
Claiming Disability
by
A comprehensive assessment of the field of Disability Studies that presents beyond the medical to dig into the meaning From public transportation and education to adequate access to buildings, the social impact of disability has been felt everywhere since the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act in 1990. And a remarkable groundswell of activism and critical literature has followed in this wake. Claiming Disability is the first comprehensive examination of Disability Studies as a field of inquiry. Disability Studies is not simply about the variations that exist in human behavior, appearance, functioning, sensory acuity, and cognitive processing but the meaning we make of those variations. With vivid imagery and numerous examples, Simi Linton explores the divisions society creates--the normal versus the pathological, the competent citizen versus the ward of the state. Map and manifesto, Claiming Disability overturns medicalized versions of disability and establishes disabled people and their allies as the rightful claimants to this territory.
Negotiating Disability
by
Disability is not always central to claims about diversity and inclusion in higher education, but should be. This collection reveals the pervasiveness of disability issues and considerations within many higher education populations and settings, from classrooms to physical environments to policy impacts on students, faculty, administrators, and staff. While disclosing one's disability and identifying shared experiences can engender moments of solidarity, the situation is always complicated by the intersecting factors of race and ethnicity, gender, sexuality, and class. With disability disclosure as a central point of departure, this collection of essays builds on scholarship that highlights the deeply rhetorical nature of disclosure and embodied movement, emphasizing disability disclosure as a complex calculus in which degrees of perceptibility are dependent on contexts, types of interactions that are unfolding, interlocutors' long- and short-term goals, disabilities, and disability experiences, and many other contingencies.
Occupying Disability: Critical Approaches to Community, Justice, and Decolonizing Disability
by
This book explores the concept of "occupation" in disability well beyond traditional clinical formulations of disability: it considers disability not in terms of pathology or impairment, but as a range of unique social identities and experiences that are shaped by visible or invisible diagnoses/impairments, socio-cultural perceptions and environmental barriers and offers innovative ideas on how to apply theoretical training to real world contexts. Inspired by disability justice and "Disability Occupy Wall Street / Decolonize Disability" movements in the US and related movements abroad, this book builds on politically engaged critical approaches to disability that intersect occupational therapy, disability studies and anthropology. "Occupying Disability" will provide a discursive space where the concepts of disability, culture and occupation meet critical theory, activism and the creative arts. The concept of "occupation" is intentionally a moving target in this book. Some chapters discuss occupying spaces as a form of protest or alternatively, protesting against territorial occupations. Others present occupations as framed or problematized within the fields of occupational therapy and occupational science and anthropology as engagement in meaningful activities. The contributing authors come from a variety of professional, academic and activist backgrounds to include perspectives from theory, practice and experiences of disability. Emergent themes include: all the permutations of the concept of "occupy," disability justice/decolonization, marginalization and minoritization, technology, struggle, creativity and change. This book will engage clinicians, social scientists, activists and artists in dialogues about disability as a theoretical construct and lived experience.