Skip to Main Content

Zotero

Basic Zotero training materials and custom Zotero output styles.

Prepare Zotero to link to UNMC,Children's, or Nebraska Medicine full-text

 

  • Open Zotero's Preferences box -
    • Windows - Use Zotero's "Edit" menu to select "Preferences"
    • Mac - Use Zotero's "Zotero" menu to select "Preferences.
  • After the "Preferences" box appears, click the "Advanced" icon.
  • Find the "Resolver" box and enter the relevant web address from the table below.

 

   A screenshot shows the position of the "Resolver" box on the "Advanced" page

UNMC affiliates:

 

https://unmc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=01UON_NMC&vid=01UON_NMC:UNMC

After you enter this address in the "Resolver" box,  Zotero's Library look-up feature will be ready to find full-text licensed by UNMC.

non-UNMC, Nebraska Medicine affiliates:

https://resolver.ebscohost.com/openurl?sid=EBSCO:ccm

Even after you've entered the above address in the resolver box, another step will be needed each time you want to use the Zotero library look-up feature.  Nebraska Medicine affiliated Zotero users will need to be on campus and will need to go to this EBSCOhost link and log in  using their Nebraska Medicine Net IDs (ignoring any subsequent info or login/search boxes that appear after the login) before using Zotero's "Library Lookup" feature.  You should only have to go through the login process once for a session of Zotero use (provided you keep clicking on the library lookup feature for various Zotero records so that you're not letting the login to EBSCOhost go unused for more than 15 minutes.)

Children's Hospital & Medical Center affiliates

http://yp5be5mb2b.search.serialssolutions.com/

After you enter this address in the "Resolver" box,  Zotero's Library look-up feature will be ready to find full-text licensed by Children's.

 

Viewing and/or Adding Full-text

Freely available articles:

Articles that are available free online may be automatically added to your Zotero library (depends on your "General" Zotero preference settings).

  • Look for little article symbols in the column headed by a “paperclip” icon.
  • To see the full-text double-click on the article symbol.
  • Zotero provides highlighting, commenting, and notes tools on the full-text viewing page.
   A screenshot showing the position of the full-text icon
     
  • To return to your Zotero library after looking at an article, just click the “My library” tab.
   A screenshot shows the position of the "My Library" tab.
     

If you don't see a pdf icon in a Zotero record:

  • check for freely available full text by selecting one or more Zotero records
  • right click (or two-finger click in Mac) on one of the selected records.
  • select "Find available PDFs" from the menu that appears.
   A screenshot shows selected records and the menu containing the "Find available PDFs" option that appears when you right-click on a selected record.
     

Accessing full-text available through UNMC licenses:

  • Click on a Zotero record for an article that’s of interest to you (one that isn’t already available in full-text form in your Zotero database, see “a” in the screenshot below).
  • Click on the “Arrow” menu above the record details panel on the right (see “b” arrow in screenshot).
  • Select the “Library Lookup” option.

 

   A screenshot shows the method for accessing "Library Lookup"
     
  • A webpage will open.  If UNMC has a license for the content (or if free full-text is entered in UNMC’s resolver database), a link to one or more full-text sources will be present near the middle of the page.  If UNMC doesn’t have a license an “request article ” link will be present in the same central location.
  • Click a link to the full-text source. 
  • Usually, a webpage containing the article's abstract will open. 
  • Occasionally, the journal's homepage or full-text vendor's webpage will appear.  You will then have to search the site for the article title or use the site's "browse"/"archive" feature to find the article of interest.
  • Find a link to open the pdf version. If the article isn't automatically downloaded, download or save the article on your computer.
   A screenshot of the page opened by the library-lookup.
     

Adding a full-text article to the article's record in Zotero:

Once you have saved a pdf file on your computer, you can easily attach it to the corresponding record in Zotero.

  • If the record of corresponding to the full-text isn’t selected, first click on the record to select it.
  • Click on the “paper-clip” drop-down menu.
  • Select the  “Attach Stored Copy of File” option.
   A screenshot shows the position of the paper-clip icon.
     
  • Use the file finder/explorer box that appears to navigate to the location of the stored file, select it, and click “Open”
   A screenshot of the file explorer window showing selection of the full-text file
     
  • You should now see an article icon in the reference’s  “paperclip”/”attachments” column in Zotero.
   A screenshot shows icon representing the newly added full-text file.