Zotero

1. Find the reference.

If you're having trouble finding the reference:

• Click on "My Library" to see all references together.

• Search for the reference of interest using the small search box above reference list, or

• Sort the list based on information you know about the reference of interest to make the reference easier to find. For instance, if you know the authors of the reference of interest, click on the "Creator" header to sort by author so you can easily find the reference in the alphabetical list.

2.  Click on the record for the reference of interest. The detailed reference view will appear on the right.

3.  Make any desired changes. 

4.  After making the final change, simply click in different field/box to save your last change.

Freely available articles:

Articles that are available free online may be automatically added to your Zotero library (depends on your "General" Zotero preference settings).

• Look for little article symbols in the column headed by a “paperclip” icon.
• To see the full-text double-click on the article symbol.

• To return to your Zotero library after looking at an article, just click the “My library” tab (or tab named after the open Zotero collection/folder) or close the full-text article tab.

Adding articles available through UNMC licenses:

• Click on a Zotero record for an article that’s of interest to you (one that isn’t already available in full-text form in your Zotero database, see “a” in the screenshot below).
• Click on the “Arrow” menu in the right hand border of Zotero (see “b” arrow in screenshot).
• Select the “Library Lookup” option.

• A webpage will open.  If UNMC has a license for the content (or if free full-text is entered in UNMC’s resolver database), a link to one or more full-text sources will be present near the middle of the page.  If UNMC doesn’t have a license an “request article ” link will be present in the same central location.
• Click a link to the full-text source. 
• Usually, a webpage containing the article's abstract will open. 
• Occasionally, the journal's homepage or full-text vendor's webpage will appear.  You will then have to search the site for the article title or use the site's "browse"/"archive" feature to find the article of interest.
• Find a link to open or download the pdf version. If the article isn't automatically downloaded, download or save the article on your computer.

Once you have saved a pdf file on your computer, you can easily attach it to the corresponding record in Zotero.

• If the record of corresponding to the full-text isn’t selected, first left-click on the record to select it.
• Next, right-click (or two-finger-click on Mac) on the record. A pop-up menu will appear.
• Hover over the "Add Attachment" option and slide to the right and select the "File" option on the submenu.

• Use the file finder/explorer box that appears to navigate to the location of the stored file, select it, and click “Open”

• You should now see an article icon in the reference’s  “paperclip”/”attachments” column in Zotero.

Want to create a new folder/collection:

• Click the “+folder/collection” icon above the Zotero navigation panel.

• Enter a name for the new folder/collection in the “New Collection” pop-up.
• Click the “Create Collection” button.

Want to rename a folder/collection?

• Right click on the folder/collection and select “Rename Collection" or simply double-click on the currenct folder name.

• The folder name will appear in a box that allows typing.  Make any changes desired and hit the "enter/return" key on your keyboard.

Start by selecting the references you want to move to an individual folder/collection.

• To see all the references in your account, click on the “My Library” option in the navigation panel on the left. Select the reference/s of interest.
• You can select one, all, or some of the references:
  • To select one reference, simply left-click on that reference.
  • To select all, click on a reference and then click Ctl-a on a Windows machine or Command-a on a Mac.
  • To select more than one reference (but not all), click on a reference and then click and hold down Ctl (on Windows machines) or Command (on Macs) while you select additional references.

There are two methods for moving references.

• Drag and drop method:
  • Left-click on the selected reference (or one of the selected references).  Drag the reference to the desired folder/collection in the navigation panel on the left and drop the reference/s into that folder/collection

• Right-Click method:
  • Right-click on the selected reference (or one of the selected references). 
  • From the menu that appears, select "Add to Collection"
  • From the side menu that appears, select either "New Collection" or one of the existing collections.