Zotero

Group work in Zotero takes place through an online "Group" that is synced with all group members' account.  If you haven't already set up syncing, you'll have to do so to make your group work.

• Click the “Sync” icon at the top of the “Zotero Preferences” box.
• Click the “Create Account” link.  If the registration page doesn’t open automatically, use your working window to go to https://www.zotero.org/user/register/

• Fill in the form that appears
  • Make up a username and password for use in Zotero. You can use your e-mail address as your username. Don’t use you UNMC Net ID password.
  • You can use any of your e-mail addresses. You don’t have to use your UNMC e-mail.

• Return to Zotero’s Sync Preferences. If syncing isn’t automatically set up after you create your account, enter your Zotero username and password. If a “Set Up syncing” button (or similar option/button) is present, select/click it.

• You have the option of syncing or not syncing full-text. Your free online account can only hold 300 mb so you may want to turn off full-text syncing. If you de-check “sync full-text content, you will still be able to store full-text articles in Zotero on the computer you’re using now. The full-text articles just will not move automatically to another computer.

To work with others while using Zotero, create a new "Group Library"

• Use the "File" menu to slide to and hover over "New Library"
• Then slide to select "New Group."

• The "Login" page will appear. 
• Enter your Zotero username and password
• Hit the "Login to Zotero" button. 

(a "Regster for a free account" link is available in case you haven't already set up your syncing preferences)

• Enter a name for your new group.
• You will probably want to select "Private Membership."
• Click the "Create Group" button.
• To make the new group appear in your Zotero app, click on the application's "sync" button (The "Sync" button is in the upper right corner of the program's frame).

• A library settings page will appear.  Make the choices that work for your group.
• Consider opting for "No group file storage."  If you share full-text articles using Zotero, you could easily exceed the 300 mb storage that is freely available through Zotero.  Share your full-text files another way (Sharepoint, Box, Teams, Google Docs are all options available on some campuses).

Now it's time to invite others to your group:

• Click on the "Members Settings" link.

• When you have reached the "Members Settings" page, scroll down to find the "Send More Invitations" link.

• An "invite Members" box will appear.  Enter e-mails of desired group members separated by semi-colons.
• Hit the "Invite Members" button.
• Invitations will be sent to the e-mails you have listed. 
• Those receiving invitations will be given an opportunity to log into existing Zotero accounts or create new, free Zotero accounts. 
• Once they sync their Zotero desktop app with their online content, your new group will appear in their Zotero desktop app.

You can copy references from your personal library into a group library:

• Select "My library" or the collection containing the references you want to add to the new group library.
• Select the reference or references you want to move.  To select multiple references hold down the "Control" key on Windows machines or the "Command" key on Mac computers.  
• Left-click on the/a selected reference and drag and drop the reference/s into the new group library.

You can import references directly into the group library without adding them to your personal Zotero library.

• Simply click on the group library's name in the left-hand navigation panel.
• Then go through the import steps, either using the "browser connector" or the "File-->Import" method (see the "Import/Add References" tab of this guide).

When you work with your group to create a document with in-text citations, it's important that you select the references from your group library. To insert the first in-text citation:

• As for any in-text citation,
  • Place your cursor at the position in which you wish to insert the in-text citation.
  • Click on the "Zotero" ribbon.
  • Select the desired citation style.
  • Search for the reference you wish to insert.
• Carefully, select the desired reference from your group library (not the "My Library" location).