Skip to Main Content
Quick Links
Drug Resources
-
AccessPharmacy
This link opens in a new window
Concise drug monographs include pictures of many of the available drug formulations and list U.S. and foreign trade names. Distinctives: The monographs provide prices. A "Drug Classes" tool makes it easier to find the monographs for all members of a class.
-
AHFS DI via UpToDateLexidrug
This is one of several resources the library provides in the "UpToDateLexiDrug" interface. Enter your search terms in the "UpToDateLexiDrug" search box, run the search, and click on one of the AHFS links. Distinctives: The monographs in the complete version of AHFS (not AHFS Essentials) are usually very thorough. They may cite conference abstracts and personal communications with manufacturers. Look here for pearls of information not found elsewhere.
-
Clinical Pharmacology
This link opens in a new window
Clinical Pharmacology provides adult and pediatric drug monographs as well as a variety of custom reports (drug interactions, adverse effects, IV compatibility), calculators, etc. Distinctives: Clinical Pharmacology provides custom adverse reaction reports and consumer-language (as well as professional-lefel) drug interaction reports.
-
DailyMed
This link opens in a new window
DailyMed provides access to the FDA-approved package inserts/labels for generic and brand name drugs. Only FDA-approved uses are covered. Distinctives: One of the best sources for information concerning inactive ingredients/additives/excipients as these, like the package inserts/labels, are manufacturer and dosage form specific.
-
Drugs in Pregnancy & Lactation
Long considered the gold standard print reference for advice on drug use during pregnancy or lactation, Briggs is now available through UpToDateLexidrug.
-
DynaMedex
This link opens in a new window
Use the "Drug Resources" drop-down menu (or the “Micromedex” “new window” icon) and select from General or Neofax & Pediatric Drug Monographs, the IV Compatibility Tool, or the Drug Interaction Checker.
-
Green Book (AnimalDrugs@FDA)
Most FDA-approved animal drugs are included this list of approved animal drug products. This list is called the Green Book for short, and FDA updates it in its entirety every month.
-
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide
This link opens in a new window
Provides information needed to ensure optimal use of antibiotics. Adult and Pediatric monographs are included. Available on-campus only and may only be available on networked computers.
-
Martindale's via UpToDateLexidrug
This is one of several resources the library provides in the "UpToDateLexidrug" interface. Enter your search terms in the "UpToDateLexiDrug" search box, run the search, and click on one of the "Martindale's" links. Distinctives: Martindale's is one of the best sources for drug names. It provides CAS registry numbers, investigational names, a scientific name, common synonyms, English-language and foreign generic names as well as U.S. and foreign trade names.
-
Orange Book
This link opens in a new window
Provides information about the therapeutic equivalence of versions of a drug produced by different manufacturers. Published by the FDA.
-
Purple Book (FDA)
Lists of Licensed Biological Products with Reference Product Exclusivity and Biosimilarity or Interchangeability Evaluations
-
-
UpToDateLexidrug
This link opens in a new window
UpToDateLexidrug includes the pediatric, adult, and geriatric LexiDrugs monographs; natural products monographs; Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation monographs; and toxicology monographs. It also provides custom drug interaction IV compatibility report tools. Distinctives: When you use UpToDateLexidrug , you have access to monographs from several sources/publishers (LexiDrugs monographs and monographs from the other resources we provide through UpToDateLexidrug -- AHFS and Martindales). The adult LexiDrugs monographs provide price information.
-
Yellow Book
This link opens in a new window
The Yellow Book is published every two years by CDC as a reference for those who advise international travelers about health risks.
Databases
-
CAS SciFinder (Registration)
This link opens in a new window
Registration information for CAS SciFinder.
-
CAS SciFinder
This link opens in a new window
Database: Focuses on the literature in chemistry. It is produced and published by CAS: Chemical Abstracts Service, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to including Medline and Chemical Abstracts, it includes chemical identification and chemical reaction exploration tools as well as a chemical supplier/catalog database that can be used to find sources for reagents and compare prices for different sources.
-
CINAHL
This link opens in a new window
Database: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature, via EBSCOhost platform.
-
Cochrane Library
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and more.
-
Embase
This link opens in a new window
Database: Accessible with a UNMC NetID. Embase has unique and comprehensive journal and biomedical articles: this includes journal searching, systematic review searching, and a thesaurus.
-
PubMed
This link opens in a new window
Database: Information on biomedicine and health, portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
-
PsycINFO
Database indexing the psychology, psychiatry, and mental health/disease literature.
-
Scopus
This link opens in a new window
Database: Accessible with a UNMC NetID. Citation metrics on peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Clinical Resources
-
AccessMedicine
A large collection of medical e-books ranging from basic science to subspecialty texts.
-
AccessSurgery
Includes surgery-focused e-books, differential diagnosis tool, multimedia resources, and patient education handouts.
-
AccessPhysiotherapy
This link opens in a new window
E-books and Clinical Resources: Provides students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks
-
DynaMedex
This link opens in a new window
Database: A point-of-care tool to support clinical decision-making. To download the DynaMedex iOS app use the Nebraska Medicine HUB application. Select DynaMedex from the mobile apps list. One the app is installed click Sign In and then select "Sign in via an organization/group and select Nebraska Medicine.
Patient Education
-
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus was developed by the National Library of Medicine to provide consumer health information. The site includes guides to health topics, as well as drug information, herbal/supplement information, dictionaries, directories, and information on organizations.
-
Health Information Service
This McGoogan Library service responds to requests for information Nebraska state residents and patients of the Nebraska Medical Center who want information related to their own health or the health of a family member.
Helpful Tools
-
ChemDraw (Registration)
This link opens in a new window
You must request an account to download the software or use the cloud version.
-
ChemDraw
This link opens in a new window
Tool: Use this link after you have already requested an account. Individual UNMC users can download the ChemBioOffice software to their on-campus workstations for Mac or PC.
Writing Assistance
-
Author Toolkit
This guide provides resources to help authors navigate the processes of research, writing, publication, and dissemination of scholarly works.
-
EndNote Guide
Links to obtain EndNote. EndNote Training.
-
Zotero Guide
Links to Zotero download webpage. Zotero training.
McGoogan Services
-
Online Catalog
Use our catalog to search for the McGoogan Library's print and electronic resources,
-
-
Interlibrary Loan
Request articles & books, McGoogan Docs FAQ, and etc.
-
Literature Search Service
The jumping off page for routine search service (average turn around 1-2 days, M-F) , systematic review team service (longer turn around), and UNMC Health Information Service (for consumers or health professionals needing info to pass on to consumers).
-
Health Information Service
This McGoogan Library service responds to requests for information Nebraska state residents and patients of the Nebraska Medical Center who want information related to their own health or the health of a family member.
