Research Guides: College of Pharmacy Research Guide: Freely Available Compendia

Freely Available Compendia

Warning: Although all of these sites include freely available content many of these sites sell advertising space, and a few provide shopping and subscription "opportunities."

DrugBank -- professional level information
* lists alternate names for each drug
* provides each drug's formula, 2-D structural diagram, and rotatable 3-D structural diagram
* provides each drug's PubChem, CAS Registry, KEGG Compound, etc. numbers
* lists physical properties of each drug
* provides links to clinical information and the FDA label for each drug
* provides the protein sequence of the drug's target and information about the target's function
* provides drug target SNPs
Drugs.com -- professional and consumer level information
* consumer information sheets in English and Spanish and "advanced consumer information." Information is from Micromedex™, Cerner Multum™, Wolters Kluwer, and others
* consumer level, disease information sheets
* heavily referenced professional level monographs
* drug interactions checker.
* drug image database
* pill identifier
* new drug approvals and applications
* medical encyclopedia and dictionary
MedlinePlus Drug Information -- consumer level
* Consumer level drug monographs from ASHP's MedMaster .
Medscape DrugInfo -- professional and consumer level
* drug monograph database based on information from First DataBank, ASHP, and FDA's Drug Alert service. Complete bibliographic information for cited works is provided in linked pop-up boxes.
* drug interaction checker.
* patient handouts from First DataBank.
* Medscape requires free registration.
RxList.com -- professional and consumer level
* professional-level drug monographs
* a few consumer-oriented, alternative medicine information sheets-- click on "Alternative Medicines" link to the right of the search box.
* patient information sheets for many drugs. Search for the drug of interest, click on the link to the professional-level monograph, and then look in the left-hand margin for the link to "Patient Information." Most are from Cerner.
* imprint code and NDC code searches through the "Pill Identifier" screen.
RxMed -- professional level
* a browsable collection of pharmaceutical monographs that includes information on some prescription and nonprescription drugs, formulas, ointments, etc.
* a browsable collection of herbal medicine and dietary supplement monographs.
* a collection of disease information sheets is also available.
WebMD -- consumer level
* consumer level, drug information sheets (from First DataBank)
* drug news
* disease information
* other consumer-targeted services.