Research Guides: College of Pharmacy Research Guide: Drug Info.

UNMC-Licensed and Government-Sponsored Compendia

Please note: Government websites may be removing or changing content to comply with new executive orders. If the information you need is unavailable, see the resources listed on the linked website for back up copies and alternate sources.

ACCESSMedicine Drug Monographs
Concise drug monographs include pictures of many of the available drug formulations and list U.S. and foreign trade names. Distinctives: The monographs provide prices. A "Drug Classes" tool makes it easier to find the monographs for all members of a class.
AHFS DI via UpToDateLexidrug
This is one of several resources the library provides in the "UpToDateLexiDrug" interface. Enter your search terms in the "UpToDateLexiDrug" search box, run the search, and click on one of the AHFS links. Distinctives: The monographs in the complete version of AHFS (not AHFS Essentials) are usually very thorough. They may cite conference abstracts and personal communications with manufacturers. Look here for pearls of information not found elsewhere.

Clinical Pharmacology
Clinical Pharmacology provides adult and pediatric drug monographs as well as a variety of custom reports (drug interactions, adverse effects, IV compatibility), calculators, etc. Distinctives: Clinical Pharmacology provides custom adverse reaction reports and consumer-language (as well as professional-lefel) drug interaction reports.

DailyMed (freely available, U.S. government-sponsored, PPI database)
DailyMed provides access to the FDA-approved package inserts/labels for generic and brand name drugs. Only FDA-approved uses are covered. Distinctives: One of the best sources for information concerning inactive ingredients/additives/excipients as these, like the package inserts/labels, are manufacturer and dosage form specific.
UpToDateLexidrug
UpToDateLexidrug includes the pediatric, adult, and geriatric LexiDrugs monographs; natural products monographs; Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation monographs; and toxicology monographs. It also provides custom drug interaction IV compatibility report tools. Distinctives: When you use UpToDateLexidrug , you have access to monographs from several sources/publishers (LexiDrugs monographs and monographs from the other resources we provide through UpToDateLexidrug -- AHFS and Martindales). The adult LexiDrugs monographs provide price information.
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference via UpToDateLexidrug
his is one of several resources the library provides in the "UpToDateLexidrug" interface. Enter your search terms in the "UpToDateLexiDrug" search box, run the search, and click on one of the "Martindale's" links. Distinctives: Martindale's is one of the best sources for drug names. It provides CAS registry numbers, investigational names, a scientific name, common synonyms, English-language and foreign generic names as well as U.S. and foreign trade names.

Mobile Drug Info Resources

Recommended free apps

Orange Book Express 2.0 / OB Express 2.0
Free, mobile app produced by the FDA. Provides information about the therapeutic equivalence of versions of a drug produced by different manufacturers. Available through your App Store. No account creation required.
LactRx
A free, mobile app version of the well-known, U.S. government produced database concerning drug use during breastfeeding. Available through your app store. No account creation required.
PEPID
PEPID includes a limited amount of free content. The free content includes a medical dictionary and some procedure videos. Other content is available for a significant fee. Account creation is required, for even the free version, but requires only limited information submission.
SkyScape
SkyScape includes some free content including a useful medical calculator program. Other content is available for a fee. Account creation is required, for even the free version, and requires submission of substantial personal information including street address and profession.

Freely Available Compendia

Warning: Although all of these sites include freely available content many of these sites sell advertising space, and a few provide shopping and subscription "opportunities."

DrugBank -- professional level information
* lists alternate names for each drug
* provides each drug's formula, 2-D structural diagram, and rotatable 3-D structural diagram
* provides each drug's PubChem, CAS Registry, KEGG Compound, etc. numbers
* lists physical properties of each drug
* provides links to clinical information and the FDA label for each drug
* provides the protein sequence of the drug's target and information about the target's function
* provides drug target SNPs
Drugs.com -- professional and consumer level information
* consumer information sheets in English and Spanish and "advanced consumer information." Information is from Micromedex™, Cerner Multum™, Wolters Kluwer, and others
* consumer level, disease information sheets
* heavily referenced professional level monographs
* drug interactions checker.
* drug image database
* pill identifier
* new drug approvals and applications
* medical encyclopedia and dictionary
MedlinePlus Drug Information -- consumer level
* Consumer level drug monographs from ASHP's MedMaster .
Medscape DrugInfo -- professional and consumer level
* drug monograph database based on information from First DataBank, ASHP, and FDA's Drug Alert service. Complete bibliographic information for cited works is provided in linked pop-up boxes.
* drug interaction checker.
* patient handouts from First DataBank.
* Medscape requires free registration.
RxList.com -- professional and consumer level
* professional-level drug monographs
* a few consumer-oriented, alternative medicine information sheets-- click on "Alternative Medicines" link to the right of the search box.
* patient information sheets for many drugs. Search for the drug of interest, click on the link to the professional-level monograph, and then look in the left-hand margin for the link to "Patient Information." Most are from Cerner.
* imprint code and NDC code searches through the "Pill Identifier" screen.
RxMed -- professional level
* a browsable collection of pharmaceutical monographs that includes information on some prescription and nonprescription drugs, formulas, ointments, etc.
* a browsable collection of herbal medicine and dietary supplement monographs.
* a collection of disease information sheets is also available.
WebMD -- consumer level
* consumer level, drug information sheets (from First DataBank)
* drug news
* disease information
* other consumer-targeted services.

Adverse Effects

Almost all the resources listed on the "Drug Information" page provide some information about adverse effects. The resources listed below either provide an oppotunity to list adverse effects in a unique way or focus almost entirely on adverse events and drug safety.

Clinical Pharmacology
Clinical Pharmacology is only available to UNMC/NM-affiliated users. You can use Clinical Pharmacology to create an adverse reaction report for a list of drugs that you enter.
FDA Recalls, Market Withdrawals and Safety Alerts
Enforcement reports, Adverse Drug Reaction reports, recalls, labeling changes, medical device safety alerts, etc.
Institute for Safe Medication Practices
This non-profit organization "provides an independent review of medication errors that have been voluntarily submitted by practitioners to a national Medication Errors Reporting Program (MERP) operated by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) in the USA."

Breastfeeding and Pregnancy

Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation via UpToDateLexidrug
Long considered the gold standard print reference for advice on drug use during pregnancy or lactation, Briggs is now available through UpToDateLexidrug.

LactMed
"A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database.... Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider."

Organization of Teratology Information Specialists (OTIS) Fact Sheets
Consumer-level information sheets on the teratogenic effects of medications, herbals, vaccines, diseases, illegal drugs and other exposures. Contact information for local teratogen information services.
Perinatology.com
Information on the site has been written by perinatologists and genetic counselors of The San Gabriel Valley Perinatal Medical Group. Includes links to information about drugs and other exposures during pregnancy.

Pharmacokinetics Resources and eBooks

AccessPharmacy
Access pharmacy includes a wide variety of pharmacy- and drug-focused ebooks including books on pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, pharmacy law, pharmacy practice/management, toxicology, and NAPLEX review. Also included are books focused on basic sciences and clinical medicine.

more... less...

"Over 150 drug-therapy cases with Q&A and care plans that students can complete and submit to faculty. A secure instructor's guide with answer key is available to course directors.
Over 20,000 pages of content.
Over 500 curricular topics from the core curriculum.
Over 6,000 questions mapped to the core curriculum."

Pharmacology eBooks

AccessPharmacy
Access pharmacy includes a wide variety of pharmacy- and drug-focused ebooks including books on pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, pharmacy law, pharmacy practice/management, toxicology, and NAPLEX review. Also included are books focused on basic sciences and clinical medicine

more... less...

"Over 150 drug-therapy cases with Q&A and care plans that students can complete and submit to faculty. A secure instructor's guide with answer key is available to course directors.
Over 20,000 pages of content.
Over 500 curricular topics from the core curriculum.
Over 6,000 questions mapped to the core curriculum."

Pharmacotherapy Resources and eBooks

Drug Prescribing in Renal Failure -- professional level information
The University of Louisville's Division of Nephrology & Hypertension provides dosing guidelines for children and adults. See navigation panel on the left-hand side of the screen.
GlobalRPh -- professional level
Website created and maintained by David F. McAuley, Pharm.D., R.Ph. provides access to useful calculators and information on prescribing in infectious disease. Dosage adjustments for patients with renal failure are included.
Orange Book
FDA-produced therapeutic equivalence database
Purple Book (FDA)
Lists of Licensed Biological Products with Reference Product Exclusivity and Biosimilarity or Interchangeability Evaluations
AccessPharmacy
Access pharmacy includes a wide variety of pharmacy- and drug-focused ebooks including books on pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, pharmacy law, pharmacy practice/management, toxicology, and NAPLEX review. Also included are books focused on basic sciences and clinical medicine

more... less...

"Over 150 drug-therapy cases with Q&A and care plans that students can complete and submit to faculty. A secure instructor's guide with answer key is available to course directors.
Over 20,000 pages of content.
Over 500 curricular topics from the core curriculum.
Over 6,000 questions mapped to the core curriculum."

Pharmacy Practice and Management Issues

AccessPharmacy
Access pharmacy includes a wide variety of pharmacy- and drug-focused ebooks including books on pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, pharmacy law, pharmacy practice/management, toxicology, and NAPLEX review. Also included are books focused on basic sciences and clinical medicine

more... less...

"Over 150 drug-therapy cases with Q&A and care plans that students can complete and submit to faculty. A secure instructor's guide with answer key is available to course directors.
Over 20,000 pages of content.
Over 500 curricular topics from the core curriculum.
Over 6,000 questions mapped to the core curriculum."
ACCP Papers
American College of Clinical Pharmacy commentaries, white papers, position statements, and guidelines.
American Pharmacists Association
Includes sections for many topics of current interest to pharmacists.
American Society of Consultant Pharmacists Practice Resources
This webpage provides links to a wide variety of resources of use to the consultant pharmacist.
ASHP Practice and Policy
This webpages provides links to policy statements, practice guidelines, and other resource centers designed to meet the needs of members.
ASHP Practice Resource Center
Links to resources covering topics from "Drug Compounding" to "Patient Assistance Programs."

Pharmacy Review

AccessPharmacy
Access pharmacy includes a wide variety of pharmacy- and drug-focused ebooks including books on pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, pharmacy law, pharmacy practice/management, toxicology, and NAPLEX review. Also included are books focused on basic sciences and clinical medicine

more... less...

"Over 150 drug-therapy cases with Q&A and care plans that students can complete and submit to faculty. A secure instructor's guide with answer key is available to course directors.
Over 20,000 pages of content.
Over 500 curricular topics from the core curriculum.
Over 6,000 questions mapped to the core curriculum."

Toxicology Resources and eBooks

AccessPharmacy
Access pharmacy includes a wide variety of pharmacy- and drug-focused ebooks including books on pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, pharmacy law, pharmacy practice/management, toxicology, and NAPLEX review. Also included are books focused on basic sciences and clinical medicine

more... less...

"Over 150 drug-therapy cases with Q&A and care plans that students can complete and submit to faculty. A secure instructor's guide with answer key is available to course directors.
Over 20,000 pages of content.
Over 500 curricular topics from the core curriculum.
Over 6,000 questions mapped to the core curriculum."
Poisoning and Drug Overdose via AccessMedicine
Poisoning & Drug Overdose provides practical advice for the diagnosis and management of poisoning and drug overdose and concise information about common industrial chemicals.

Additional, COP Faculty-Recommended eBooks

Basic & Clinical Biostatistics (Lange Series) via AccessPharmacy
A basic biostatistics textbook recommended by a UNMC COP faculty member.
Medical Epidemiology via AccessPharmacy
A basic epidmiology textbook recommended by a UNMC COP faculty member.
Pharmacoepidemiology: Principles and Practice via AccessPharmacy
A pharmacoepidemiology textbook recommended by a UNMC COP faculty member.

Drug Statistics/Event Reports

ClinicalCalc Drug Stats Database
Provides total prescription numbers for individual drugs.
Sider
A searchable interface that mines the text of scholarly literature to attempt to identify possible drug side effects. Listing of a condition by Sider does not mean that a link with the drug has been proven.