Request articles & books through Interlibrary Loan. This service allows access to articles that are not available through Children's or UNMC collections, as well as providing a document delivery service for articles in library owned print journals. New users outside of UNMC will need to create an account.
Reference librarians will provide free searches for faculty, staff, and students. Searches may be requested for the following databases: MEDLINE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, IPA, and Cochrane. Searches are usually completed within 1 to 2 business days. You can also make the request by either contacting the AskUs Desk via phone or e-mail.
Information on the library's systematic review service, process, and contact information.
Library Classes
Classes are available through the library's McGoogan Sessions and upon request. If there is a class that you would like the library to provide, and it is not a part of the schedule of classes, please contact Kim Harp at kimberly.harp@unmc.edu.
A list of scheduled upcoming classes and the video archive of previous classes. Classes are conducted in-person on the UNMC campus or via Zoom.
Copyright - Have a copyright question regarding a presentation, sharing resources in a training, or getting permissions for a manuscript? This session covers the basics of copyright and can be tailored for your specific project.
15 to 30 Minutes
Database Tutorials - Learn searching techniques and database features to enhance your ability to discover relevant literature in research databases. Depending on past experience, this course will run 15-30 minutes. Databases can include PubMed, CINAHL, PsycINFO, Cochrane Library, ClinicalKey, Health Business, GoogleScholar, EMBASE or Scopus.
15 to 30 Minutes
Getting Published - This 30-minute session can be tailored to groups or individuals. This session covers the following: finding the right journal to submit your article for publication; evaluation of journals, journal metrics, open access, author fees, and more.
30 Minutes
Zotero/Citation Management - This session can be tailored for either beginner or advanced Zotero citation manager users. It can be taught to a group or an individual. We recommend reviewing our Zotero guide before scheduling
30 Minutes
Google Scholar & h-index - This class will discuss h-index scores and how to set up a Google Scholar Profile. This meeting will take about 15 minutes and is only offered as one-on-one basis.
15 to 30 Minutes
Information Literacy- Need help getting started or a refresher with how to find topical, evidence-based information for a project? This class provides an overview of locating, evaluating, and effectively using needed information. This meeting normally takes between 30 - 60 minutes.
30 to 60 Minutes
Library Orientation - This orientation will focus on reviewing the tools and resources available through the library. The new library website will be used as a starting point. This meeting will take about 15-20 minutes.
15 to 20 Minutes
Mobile Access - The class will walk through setting up mobile access to the great resources available through the library so you can have tools in your pocket. This meeting will take around 15-30 minutes depending on how many resources are set up.
15 to 30 Minutes
New Employee Orientation - This class is offered to all new CM employees. This quick class is designed to provide a welcome to CM and the library. The library website and most popular tools will be covered. This meeting takes around 15 minutes.
15 Minutes
MyNCBI - This class will focus on setting up a MyNCBI account on PubMed.
15 Minutes
PubMed Tips and Tricks - This class is offered as an intro to PubMed. Depending on knowledge level this meeting may be anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes.
15 to 30 Minutes
Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare- things to know
