Zotero

Zotero is a freely available, bibliographic management program.  Using Zotero, you can easily save and organize literature search results.  The Zotero Word plug-in makes it easy to insert in-text citations and create formatted bibliographies.  Zotero works well on both Windows and Mac computers and with several word processing programs including the desktop version of Word 365 and Google Docs. Click the Icons or links below or the numbered tabs above to find detailed instructions.

1. Download and Install Zotero

2.  Add Browser Connector

3.  Set Zotero Preferences

4.  Import or add references  manually

5. Organize and edit references

6. Find/Read Fulll-text

7. Share references

8. Check for duplicates

9. Insert in-text citations and create bibliographies

Need help with a Zotero problem:

• If you need help, You're welcome to contact Cindy Schmidt, cmschmidt@unmc.edu, 402-559-7077, or schedule an appointment with Cindy using the linked online scheduling tool.  Other librarians may also be able to answer your questions (contact askus@unmc.edu or call 402-559-6221
• You may also find the help you need by perusing the the Zotero Knowledge Base https://www.zotero.org/support/kb
• You can also ask the Zotero Forums for help https://www.zotero.org/support/getting_help.  Remember, Zotero is Freeware, so answering your questions cannot be the first priority of forum participants.  Participants will only address your questions if/when they have time.  

Several types of training are available:

• If you'd like one-on-one or group Zotero training, contact Cindy Schmidt  cmschmidt@unmc.edu, 402-559-7077, or simply schedule a 1.0-hour or 1.5-hour  appointment with Cindy using the linked online scheduling tool.  Alternatively, you are can contact the library at askus@unmc.edu or call 402-559-6221 and ask which librarian/s would be available to provide Zotero training.  
• This Guide can also get you started.  I (Cindy) would recommend going through the information in the tabs in numerical order.  
• A video of McGoogan's February 2025  "Zotero 7 Basics" session is also available.  The video uses Zotero 6.   There are a few differences in the current version (Zotero 7).  Tabs 2- 9 of this guide show screenshots for Zotero version 7.

The bulleted list below includes the timepoints in the video ( "Zotero 7 Basics" ) that address specific topics and also provides links to the corresponding section of this guide

• Zotero download & Install, in video at 1:22, click here to open guide page
• Add Zotero browser connector, in video at 2:19, click here to open guide page
• Updating Zotero, in video at 5:45
• Creating a collection (folder), in video at 6:24, click here to open guide page
• Add records, click here to open guide page:
  • Drag and drop a pdf, in video at 7:24
  • Search for a doi or PMID, in video at 8:17
  • Import PubMed records, in video at 9:31 
  • Import Google Scholar records , in video at 12:35
  • Export a RIS (RefMan) file or Bibtex file and import it into Zotero, in video at 14:56
  • Create a record for a webpage, in video at 16:46
  • Create a record for a book chapter, in video at 18:54
• Use Zotero to create in-text citations and bibliographies, in video at 20:43, click here to open guide page
• Dealing with duplicate records, in video at 25:32, click here to open guide page
• Optimize Zotero settings, in video at 27:49, click here to open guide page
  • GetIt@UNMC, in video at 29:39
  • Sync, in video at 31:16
  • Citation styles, in video at 34:23
• Accessing full-text, in video at 35:48, click here to open guide page

You will need to 1) export RIS or BibTeX files from your existing citation manager database to your computer and 2) import the RIS or BibTex files to Zotero.

1. Export RIS or BibTeX files from your present citation manager.  The steps are for exporting from EndNote are shown below:

EndNote

1. Select all references in the group you wish to export.  To select all, select one reference and then click Ctl-a (Windows) or Command-a (Mac).
2. Click on the EndNote "File" menu and select the "Export" option.

3. When the Export options box appears, note or change the default file name, note or change the default file save location.  Then choose the "RefMan (RIS) Export" "Output Style". (You may have to choose the "Select other style" option  to find the "RefMan (RIS) Export" option.
4. Click the "Save" option.

5. The file will appear in the location you specified or the default location you noted earlier.

2. Import the downloaded/saved file into Zotero.  Follow the steps for import of a file into Zotero shown in tab "4" of this guide.  Specifically, refer to the Zotero import steps listed in the box entitled "Import a citation manager (nbib, bibtex, ris) file downloaded from a literature database"