Research Guides: College of Public Health Research Guide: Find articles and books

Databases

CINAHL
Database: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature, via EBSCOhost platform.
Embase

Database: Accessible with a UNMC NetID. Embase has unique and comprehensive journal and biomedical articles: this includes journal searching, systematic review searching, and a thesaurus.
PsycINFO

Database: via EBSCOhost;
Accessible with a UNMC NetID. Electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
PubMed

Database: Information on biomedicine and health, portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Scopus

Database: Accessible with a UNMC NetID. Citation metrics on peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Books

Delivering Health Care in America: A Systems Approach by Leiyu Shi; Douglas A. Singh
ISBN: 1284224643

Publication Date: 2022

An overview of US health care delivery -- Beliefs, values, and health -- The evolution of health services in the United States -- Health services professionals -- Medical technology -- Health services financing -- Outpatient and primary care services -- Inpatient facilities and services -- Managed care and integrated organizations -- Long-term care -- Health services for special populations -- Cost, access, and quality -- Health policy -- The future of health services delivery.
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (U.S.), author
ISBN: 0309670381

Publication Date: 2020-11-28

When communities face complex public health emergencies, state, local, tribal, and territorial public health agencies must make difficult decisions regarding how to effectively respond. The public health emergency preparedness and response (PHEPR) system, with its multifaceted mission to prevent, protect against, quickly respond to, and recover from public health emergencies, is inherently complex and encompasses policies, organizations, and programs.
Federal Policy to Advance Racial, Ethnic, and Tribal Health Equity by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Health and Medicine Division; Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice; Committee on the Review of Federal Policies that Contribute to Racial and Ethnic Health Inequities; Amy B. Geller (Editor); Daniel E. Polsky (Editor); Sheila P. Burke (Editor)
ISBN: 9780309697743

Publication Date: 2023-10-25

Racially and ethnically minoritized populations and tribal communities often face preventable inequities in health outcomes due to structural disadvantages and diminished opportunities around health care, employment, education, and more. Federal Policy to Advance Racial, Ethnic, and Tribal Health Equity analyzes how past and current federal policies may create, maintain, and/or amplify racial, ethnic, and tribal health inequities. This report identifies key features of policies that have served to reduce inequities and makes recommendations to help achieve racial, ethnic, and tribal health equity.
Healthcare Strategies and Planning for Social Inclusion and Development by Basanta Kumara Behera; Ram Prasad; Shyambhavee Behera
ISBN: 9780323904476

Publication Date: 2022-04-04

Healthcare Strategies and Planning for Social Inclusion and Development: Volume Two: Social, Economic, and Health Disparities of Rural Women examines rural women, particularly in developing countries, and how social and economic constraints they experience impact their ability to advocate for their own health and impede their access to healthcare. This volume discusses the economic and social barriers rural women confront in exercising their right to health care.
Introduction to Global Health by Kathryn H. Jacobsen
ISBN: 9781284234930

Publication Date: 2022-10-24

Introduction to Global Health is a comprehensive look at today's most critical global health concerns and the actions that people around the world are taking to solve public health problems and to promote health and wellbeing.
Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professions by Elsevier Inc
ISBN: 9780323827508

Publication Date: 2023-09-01

Comprehensive yet easy to understand, Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals, 5th Edition provides a guide to legal concepts and ethical principles and how they are applied in common healthcare scenarios. Content includes key topics such as the legal system, bioethical issues, employment laws, torts, and medical malpractice and liability, as well as current issues such as medical marijuana, the opioid crisis, gender identity, and public health and immunization policies.
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach, Ninth Edition by Thomas S. Bodenheimer; Kevin Grumbach; Rachel Willard-Grace
ISBN: 1265905029

Publication Date: 2023-12-05

One of the most popular resources of its kind, Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the U.S. health care system's nuances and complexities. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in health care policy, this comprehensive guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. health care system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations.

Request a Resource: Interlibrary Loan

If the book or journal article you are looking for isn't held in the Library's collection, you can request it through your Interlibrary Loan account.

Interlibrary Loan
Request articles and books that the library does not have access to.