1. Importing from EBSCO Databases2. Importing from PubMed3. Import Instructions for All Databases4. Importing Without Direct Export Feature5. Direct Export Problems
Using Write N Cite IIIUsinng Write N Cite v. 2Without Write N Cite

Admin Sign In 

RefWorks Tips, Tricks, and Guides 

This guide will provide information for using RefWorks for bibliographic citation management.
Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://unmc.libguides.com/RefWorks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

RefWorks Guide Home             Print Page
  
 

Importing

(To see these import steps illustrated go to page 8(EBSCOhost) and 7(PubMed) of the Basic RefWorks Training Guide.)

Importing from EBSCO Databases
1.  Run your search
2.  Click “add to folder” below each citation you wish to import to add them to your folder.
3.  When finished click on “folder view” in the right sidebar under "folder has items" to view citations in your folder.
4.  Put a check in the box of each item you wish to import or check “select all” box.
5.  Click “export” icon.  
6.  Under “Save citations to a file formatted for”, select “Direct Export to Refworks”.  Click “Save.  You may wish to select “delete references from folder after exporting” if you want a clear folder for your next search.
7.  If not already open, a new RefWorks window should open.  Log in to RefWorks and the records will begin importing.  You don’t get the option of putting them in a special folder until the file is imported.

Importing from PubMed

1.  Run search in PubMed
2.  Add desired records to clipboard using “send to” dropdown.  Under “Choose Destination” select “Clipboard” and click “Add to Clipboard”.
3.  Click on the “Clipboard” icon in upper right to view clipboard.
4.  Use the “Send to” dropdown menu and select “File” to  save the citations on your computer.
5.  Change the “Format” to Medline.  This puts the document in a tagged format that RefWorks can interpret.  When finished press “Create File”.   Note the filename and location so you can retrieve it when importing into RefWorks.
6.  Open Refworks from UNMC homepage or use group code and login with username and passoword
7.  In Refworks, hover on “References” dropdown and select “Import”
8.  Make sure “Import Filter/Data Source” is NLM/PubMed and “Database” is PubMed.  You can also select a folder to import the file directly into if you wish.
9.  Browse your computer files for the PubMed citations text file you saved from PubMed above in step #5.
10.  Click “Import” button.

 
 

RefWorks Link and Group Code

Use the tabs above to navigate various guides and tips for using RefWorks.  There is also a tab to register for scheduled RefWorks classes.

RefWorks
http://library1.unmc.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.refworks.com/refworks
You can access RefWorks here.  RefWorks is an online research management tool that allows users to create personal databases and use them for a variety of research activities. References are quickly and easily imported from text files or online databases. The databases can then be used to manage, store, and share the information. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds.
Sometimes computer glitches may require that you use the UNMC Group Code to login.

Classroom and One-on-One Training by Request

Want to get some hands-on experience with RefWorks in the company of an experienced RefWorks user? Consider requesting a one-on-one training session. These sessions can cover any aspect of RefWorks use that is of interest to you -- from basic to advanced.

If you're forming a research group and want to share references through a shared RefWorks account, consider arranging a RefWorks demo or class for your group.

If you're planning to assign a research paper to your students, consider encouraging your students to use Refworks and then helping them make use of RefWorks by arranging for a RefWorks demonstration, either during or outside of your classs time.

Contact Cindy Schmidt at cmschmidt@unmc.edu or 559-7077 or Brian Erb at rberb@unmc.edu or 559-8079 to make arrangements.  You can also visit http://app1.unmc.edu/mcgoogan/registration.cfm to view scheduled classes.

Need Help? Want to Report a Problem with Refworks?

Contact either Cindy Schmidt (cmschmidt@unmc.edu or 559-7077) or Brian Erb (rberb@unmc.edu or 559-8079) or contact the Reference Desk (559-6221, toll-free from outside of Omaha 1-866-800-5209, or by e-mail at askus@unmc.edu)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait