This is the "Home" page of the "Full-Text Linking" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UNMC Home McGoogan Library Home Library resources for The Nebraska Medical Center Information for Volunteer Faculty and Preceptors Consumer Health Information Resource Service (CHIRS) Helix Library Catalog Online Journal Finder Resources A to Z Literature Search Request Order Articles Mobile Library AskUs

Full-Text Linking  

Find out how to link to articles and ebook chapters in the library's online full-text collection.
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://unmc.libguides.com/linking Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EzProzy Link Creator

To make library subscribed articles and book chapters accessible to other UNMC users who are not on the UNMC campus, a proxy (or authentication) address must accompany the link. The widget below can help you add the proxy to your link, which you can then easily copy and paste into Blackboard or other university communication outlets. Please test all links. If problems arise, please contact the library at 402-559-6221 or askus@unmc.edu with your citation.

Please note that Clinical Key, EBSCO, Ovid, and STAT!Ref links are not stable and do require different steps, which are outlined below this widget.

 

1. Copy and paste your URL here:

 

2. Click Create link button below:

 

3. Copy and use the resulting link:

 

Note: It is a good practice to have the link open outside of Blackboard (in a new window), due to occasional conflicts.

 

Clinical Key: Linking to Specific Content

To link to Full Text in Clinical Key, you must do the following.    When you find an article, book, or book chapter that you would like to share, find the URL of the content in the address bar:

In this case the URL is: https://www.clinicalkey.com.library1.unmc.edu/#!/ContentPlayerCtrl/doPlayContent/1-s2.0-S1076633213002067

In order to be successfully integrated into an email, blackboard, class notes, presentations, etc, the link structure must be changed. You need to strip off the entire URL and replace it with https://library1.unmc.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/playContent/

Then you need to find the last piece of the URL, in this case, 1-s2.0-S1076633213002067, and add it to the end.  Your URL will now appear as follows:

https://library1.unmc.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/playContent/1-s2.0-S1076633213002067

The same process applies for books, journals, and book chapters, and video.  If there is extra content in the URL just remember that the key is to find the number of the item and put it after /playContent/.  You can disregard the rest of the URL!

 

 

EBSCO article linking

If the full-text of an article is within an EBSCO collection, open the citation to reveal the full view of the article information and tool selection. Click on the Permalink tool, located in the tools on the right side of the screen.

Once clicked, the Permalink (which includes the proxy) will appear above the title of the article. You can now copy and paste this URL into Blackboard, email, etc. Note: It is a good practice to have the link open outside of Blackboard (in a new window), due to occasional conflicts.

 

Ovid article linking

To link to articles in Ovid, open the article to the view below. The URL in the address bar has a session ID which will only work on your computer for a short period of time. To obtain the persistent link, click on the Email Jumpstart link, which is located in the Article Tools on the right side of the screen.

You can email the link to yourself, but it is not necessary. You can simple copy the Jumpstart URL, which includes the proxy, and paste it directly into Blackboard, etc. Note: It is a good practice to have the link open outside of Blackboard (in a new window), due to occasional conflicts.

 

STAT!Ref e-book linking

To link to an e-book or chapter within STAT!Ref, click on the link icon, which is to the right of the chapter's title. Highlight and copy this URL and add the proxy server address through the widget above on this page. Note: It is a good practice to have the link open outside of Blackboard (in a new window), due to occasional conflicts.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip