This guide is a directory of helpful grant-writing resources.
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2015
UNMC Sponsored Programs Administration
- SciVal Funding
The Vice Chancellor for Research and the Dean of the College of Medicine have teamed together to bring SciVal Funding, a searchable database of funding opportunities from more than 4,000 public and private funding sources, to UNMC researchers.
- CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects)
RePORTER is an electronic tool that allows users to search a repository of NIH-funded research projects and access publications and patents resulting from NIH funding. It replaced CRISP in December 2009.
- National Science Foundation Funding
The National Science Foundation provides information on funding opportunities, proposal preparation, award administration. Application forms are available for printing or downloading.
- National Science Foundation (Simple Search)
- NCI Interactive Budget Analysis Tool
From the National Cancer Institute, this resource gives information on the institute's budget, cancer stats, extramural data, and historical trends.
- NIH Office of Extramural Research
The National Institutes of Health Web site. Provides a searchable database of NIH grant information. Provides application forms, and procedures and guidelines relating to NIH grants. Also provides access to the NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts, the official document for announcing the availability of NIH funds for biomedical and behavioral research and research training and disseminating policy and administrative information.
A list of grant-writing courses. Sponsored by the Society for Research Administrators.
- Council on Foundations
This site provide links to Community Foundations, Corporate Foundations and Giving Programs, International Grantmakers, and Family and Public Foundations. It also offers information about conferences, workshops, research, and publications.
A national database that provides information about the operations and finances of nonprofit organizations.
Search and apply for grants for individuals, institutions, non-profits, higher education, State governments, and other groups, also includes information about what you need to know before applying (ie: Grants 101).
- Fogarty Global Health Funding News (global health)
Search for NIH funding opportunities, or keep up-to-date with weekly Funding News emails.
- US Department of Commerce
Links to various government grant-funding opportunities by government department, and links to grants already awarded.
- Gates Foundation
From the site: "The foundation awards the majority of its grants to U.S. 501(c)(3) organizations and other tax-exempt organizations identified by our staff."
- Foundation Center Free Search
From the site: "Our premier funder database, Foundation Directory Online, now includes a free search tool that has replaced Foundation Finder, providing public access to essential information about nearly 90,000 foundations and over 250,000 IRS Forms 990-PF."
Click the following links to search the library's print collection.
- The Chronicle of Philanthropy
This newspaper of the non profit world provides information about grant-related conferences, workshops, and seminars. It also gives a "Guide to Grants", and current issues and funding announcements.
- FedBizOpps (FBO)
FedBizOpps (FBO) has replaced the Commerce Business Daily (CBD) as the official listing of all Federal government contracting opportunities and awards over $25,000, and is mandated by the Federal Acquisition Regulation.
- Philanthropy News Digest