Get copies of journal articles
The library has a large collection of print and online journals and can be accessed through multiple methods:
- Linked from the journal citation in CINAHL and MEDLINE
- Search for journal title in the Online Journal Finder or the Helix Library Catalog
Also, all journals are not the same. Find out here.
1. Journals linked in CINAHL and MEDLINE
One of the quickest and easiest ways to get an article from a journal in the library's online collection is to access it while you search. When searching in CINAHL and MEDLINE, you will fine one of three links on a citation:
means you can click the link and get the full article right away.
will run a search in the library's online collection. The following window will appear. If the full-text is available, a link (e.g. Ovid) will be provided. Most links will take you directly to the article. A few will take you to the journal page where you will need to browse through the archives to find the article.

Note: Some journals require a special username and password. If one is required, it will be given to you directly after the full-text link. There are also a few journals that are only available while on the Omaha campus. If you cannot visit campus, click the Order Articles link to request the article.
If there is not a full-text link, click the Library Catalog link to search the library's print collection. If you are in Omaha, you can visit the library and make a photocopy from the print journal. If you are outside of Omaha, click the Order Articles link and request the article. A scanned copy will be sent to you.
Likewise, if the library doesn't have the journal in its collection, click the Order Articles link and the library will obtain a copy for you.
2. Locating Journals outside of CINAHL and MEDLINE
The Online Journal Finder is your best bet for locating online journals in the library's collection.

You can also find links to online journals, in addition to print journals, in the Helix Library Catalog.

Both of these resources are linked on the main page of the library. You must search both with the journal title, not the article title.
As noted above, there are some journals with passwords or are only available on the Omaha campus. This information is noted in the results of both journal resources.
Watch the videos
- Full-text in CINAHL/MEDLINE (2 min 40 sec)
- Online Journal Finder
Ordering Articles
If the library does not have a journal or if you can't visit the library to make a copy of a print journal that is in the collection, you can order the article through the McGoogan Docs system.
Links to the system are labeled Order Articles and are located on:
- The main library website http://www.unmc.edu/library
- Within the Check Here for Full Text box, which is found in the CINAHL and MEDLINE databases.
Notes about the service
- First-time users must create a username and password.
- Students get their first 50 requests per fiscal year (July-June) at no cost. Does not include Rush/Urgent requests or copyright fees.
- For your Billing Method, choose the Student 50 fund.
- When an article is ready, you will be notified and need to log back into the system to retrieve your PDF.
- PDFs will only be available for 30 days.
- General turnaround time is 2 business days.
- Rush/Urgent requests cost $5. You will not be notified about this cost. An invoice will be sent to you.
- Copyright fees are sometimes associated with requests. If this happens, you will be contacted to see if you still want the article and are willing to pay the copyright fee.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait