1. Importing from EBSCO Databases2. Importing from PubMed3. Import Instructions for All Databases4. Importing Without Direct Export Feature5. Direct Export Problems
Using Write N Cite IIIUsinng Write N Cite v. 2Without Write N Cite
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

RefWorks Tips, Tricks, and Guides 

This guide will provide information for using RefWorks for bibliographic citation management.
Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://unmc.libguides.com/RefWorks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Without Write N Cite             Print Page
  
 

Placing Citations/Bibliography without Write N Cite

If you can't get Write N Cite to work properly, follow these steps for formatting your citations and bibliography.

1. Login to RefWorks. You can work from a single folder or from your entire database. (Under the “View” tab menu, select a folder or “All References”.)
2. Choose the One line/Cite view in the Switch to: drop-down menu.
3. Choose a reference and click on it’s Cite link.
4. A box will open with the RefWorks temporary citation placeholder – this is not a citation but it will be formatted as such in a later step.
5. Click on the Select Citation button. This copies it to memory so you can paste it in your document.
6. In your document, place your cursor where you want the citation to appear and use the word
processor’s paste function to insert the citation placeholder into your document.
7. Repeat the previous steps with another citation, or multiple citations, placing them elsewhere in the
text (make sure to Clear the Citation Viewer first!).
8. Save and close your document
9. In RefWorks click on Bibliography
10. Choose your output style (If it does not appear, go to Tools and then Output Style Manager and add the desired style to your favorites list).
11. Select Format Paper and Bibliography.
12. Browse to locate your file as the Document to Format.
13. Click on Create Bibliography.
14. You now have a second document, with proper citations and formatted bibliography. Save this final copy.

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageBrian Erb
Contact Info:
Brian Erb., M.L.S.
Reference and Education Librarian
McGoogan Library of Medicine
6006 WHM
986705 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6705
rberb@unmc.edu
402-559-8079
Send Email

Subjects:
Reference/Education Librarian, College of Dentistry Liaison

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait