Placing Citations/Bibliography with Write N Cite III
Using Write N Cite III to Add Citations and Create a Bibliography for Your Paper
1. When you're ready to start inserting citations, click on the "Write-N-Cite" button in your Word toolbar. If you don't see the button, open Write-n-cite by double clicking on the desktop Write-n-cite icon.
2. You can use the "View" menu to select the folder containing the references you want to use.
3. If you wish you can re-sort the references using the "Sort by" menu.
4. Place your cursor in your Word document in the location at which you want your in-text citation.
5. Click on the "Cite" link next to the citation you wish to cite at that point.
6. Code for the citation will appear in your Word document. This code is called a "field tag" and it will be replaced with a properly formatted citation when you pick your output style at the end.
7. If you want another reference cited at the same location and you have moved your cursor since inserting the original citation, just place your cursor between the semicolon following the first cited reference's code and before the double
curly-q brackets. Then hit the "cite" link for the new reference. If you want to remove a citation, place your cursor over the code for the citation. Then click on the "edit citation" link in the upper left hand corner of Write-n-Cite. A "citation editor" window will open. Click on the "remove" link in the row corresponding to the reference you wish to remove from the in-text citation. Click "OK" when asked. Finally, click on the "Save to Word" button in the "Citation Editor" window.
8. Click on the Write-n-Cite "Bibliography" button, the
Write-n-Cite "Bibliography" screen will appear.
10. Use the "Output Style" dropdown menu to select the appropriate style. If you do not see the style you wish to use, login to your RefWorks account and go to "Tools" then "Output Style Manager". You can add a style from the master list to your favorites.
11. Click on the "Create Bibliography" button.
12. If the document is processed successfully, your document will appear with formatted citations and a bibliography.
13. You may find problems in your bibliography.
- Some problems are best fixed by logging into your RefWorks account, editing the flawed record, reopening your document and Write-n-cite and then creating the bibliography again.
- Other problems, must be fixed in the final document (e.g. capitalizing proper names in article titles).
14. You can continue to edit and add code to the formatted document. Simply go through the bibliography creation process again (whenver you wish) to format the new citations and add the new citations to your bibliography.
15. The RefWorks tools menu allows you to:
- display previously formatted citations as RefWorks
code
- convert a WNC v.2 document to a WNC III
document
- convert a WNC III document to a WNC v.2
document to
- remove Field Codes
You should remove field codes before you submit an
electronic copy of an article for publication in, or
consideration by, a journal.
When you select "Remove Field Codes," you will be warned to create a new copy of your document with a different name before you remove field codes. Heed this warning! Always save a copy of your document with field codes – in case you need to reformat prior to submitting your paper to a different journal at a later date.)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait