1. Importing from EBSCO Databases2. Importing from PubMed3. Import Instructions for All Databases4. Importing Without Direct Export Feature5. Direct Export Problems
Using Write N Cite IIIUsinng Write N Cite v. 2Without Write N Cite
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

RefWorks Tips, Tricks, and Guides 

This guide will provide information for using RefWorks for bibliographic citation management.
Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://unmc.libguides.com/RefWorks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Placing Citations/Bibliography with RefWorks             Print Page
  
 

Placing Citations/Bibliography with Write N Cite III

Using Write N Cite III to Add Citations and Create a Bibliography for Your Paper
1. When you're ready to start inserting citations, click on the "Write-N-Cite" button in your Word toolbar. If you don't see the button, open Write-n-cite by double clicking on the desktop Write-n-cite icon.
2. You can use the "View" menu to select the folder containing the references you want to use.
3. If you wish you can re-sort the references using the "Sort by" menu.
4. Place your cursor in your Word document in the location at which you want your in-text citation.
5. Click on the "Cite" link next to the citation you wish to cite at that point.
6. Code for the citation will appear in your Word document. This code is called a "field tag" and it will be replaced with a properly formatted citation when you pick your output style at the end.
7. If you want another reference cited at the same location and you have moved your cursor since inserting the original citation, just place your cursor between the semicolon following the first cited reference's code and before the double
curly-q brackets. Then hit the "cite" link for the new reference. If you want to remove a citation, place your cursor over the code for the citation. Then click on the "edit citation" link in the upper left hand corner of Write-n-Cite. A "citation editor" window will open. Click on the "remove" link in the row corresponding to the reference you wish to remove from the in-text citation. Click "OK" when asked. Finally, click on the "Save to Word" button in the "Citation Editor" window.
8. Click on the Write-n-Cite "Bibliography" button, the
Write-n-Cite "Bibliography" screen will appear.
10. Use the "Output Style" dropdown menu to select the appropriate style. If you do not see the style you wish to use, login to your RefWorks account and go to "Tools" then "Output Style Manager". You can add a style from the master list to your favorites. The preferred output style for this course is APA-Title Case.
11. Click on the "Create Bibliography" button.
12. If the document is processed successfully, your document will appear with formatted citations and a bibliography.
13. You may find problems in your bibliography.
- Some problems are best fixed by logging into your RefWorks account, editing the flawed record, reopening your document and Write-n-cite and then creating the bibliography again.
- Other problems, must be fixed in the final document (e.g. capitalizing proper names in article titles).
14. You can continue to edit and add code to the formatted document. Simply go through the bibliography creation process again (whenver you wish) to format the new citations and add the new citations to your bibliography.
15. The RefWorks tools menu allows you to:
- display previously formatted citations as RefWorks
code
- convert a WNC v.2 document to a WNC III
document
- convert a WNC III document to a WNC v.2
document to
- remove Field Codes
You should remove field codes before you submit an
electronic copy of an article for publication in, or
consideration by, a journal.
When you select "Remove Field Codes," you will be warned to create a new copy of your document with a different name before you remove field codes. Heed this warning! Always save a copy of your document with field codes – in case you need to reformat prior to submitting your paper to a different journal at a later date.)

 

Placing Citations/Bibliography with Write N Cite v.2 (MAC users)

Using Write N Cite v. 2 to Add Citations and a Bibliography to Your Paper (For MAC users).
1. When you're ready to start inserting citations, click on the "Write-N-Cite" button in your Word toolbar. If you don't see the button, open Write-n-cite by double clicking on the desktop Write-n-cite icon.
2. You can use the "View" menu to select the folder containing the references you want to use.
3. If you wish you can re-sort the references using the "Sort by" menu.
4. Place your cursor in your Word document in the location at which you want your in-text citation.
5. Click on the "Cite" link next to the citation you wish to cite at that point.
6. Code for the citation will appear in your Word document. This is called a "field tag" and will be replaced by a properly formatted citation when you choose your output style at the very end of the process.
7. If you want another reference cited at the same location and you have moved your cursor since inserting the original citation, just place your cursor between the semicolon following the first cited reference's code and before the double curly-q brackets. Then hit the "cite" link for the
new reference.
8. When ready to format your document, hit the "Write-n-Cite" "Bibliography" button.
9. The Write-n-Cite "Bibliography" screen will appear.
10. Use the "Output Style" drop-down menu to select the appropriate style. If you do not see the style you want to use, login to your RefWorks account, go to "Tools" and the "Output Style Manager" and add the desired style from the master list to your favorites. For this class, the preferred style is "APA Title Case".
11. Click on the "Create Bibliography" button.
12. If the document is processed successfully, a new Word document will be created named "Final -- __________" where the blanks represent the name of your original document.
13. Make any changes in your original document -- the one with the curly-q bracketed code for your inserted citations.
Create a new final document when you've finished your
editing. Always save the original
document!!!!

 

Placing Citations/Bibliography without Write N Cite

If you can't get Write N Cite to work properly, follow these steps for formatting your citations and bibliography.

1. Login to RefWorks. You can work from a single folder or from your entire database. (Under the “View” tab menu, select a folder or “All References”.)
2. Choose the One line/Cite view in the Switch to: drop-down menu.
3. Choose a reference and click on it’s Cite link.
4. A box will open with the RefWorks temporary citation placeholder – this is not a citation but it will be formatted as such in a later step.
5. Click on the Select Citation button. This copies it to memory so you can paste it in your document.
6. In your document, place your cursor where you want the citation to appear and use the word
processor’s paste function to insert the citation placeholder into your document.
7. Repeat the previous steps with another citation, or multiple citations, placing them elsewhere in the
text (make sure to Clear the Citation Viewer first!).
8. Save and close your document
9. In RefWorks click on Bibliography
10. Choose APA Title Case as the output style (If it does not appear, go to Tools and then Output Style Manager and add the desired style to your favorites list).
11. Select Format Paper and Bibliography.
12. Browse to locate your file as the Document to Format.
13. Click on Create Bibliography.
14. You now have a second document, with proper citations and formatted bibliography. Save this final copy.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait