1. Importing from EBSCO Databases2. Importing from PubMed3. Import Instructions for All Databases4. Importing Without Direct Export Feature5. Direct Export Problems
Using Write N Cite IIIUsinng Write N Cite v. 2Without Write N Cite
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

RefWorks Tips, Tricks, and Guides 

This guide will provide information for using RefWorks for bibliographic citation management.
Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://unmc.libguides.com/RefWorks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

3. Import Instructions for All Databases             Print Page
  
 

Importing Citations to RefWorks from all Databases

Import Instructions for All Databases

Database Name Instructions for direct export or saving content to be imported through Refworks "Import" page. "Import Filter/Data Source" Menu Selection "Database" Menu Selection

PubMed

(see "RefWorks Basic Training" guide for detailed instructions with screen shots.)

1.  Run search in PubMed
2.  Add desired records to clipboard using “send to clipboard” dropdown.
3.  Click on “Clipboard” tab to view clipboard.
4.  Select MEDLINE  from “Display” dropdown menu.
5.  Select “Send to File” from “Send to” dropdown menu to save records to your computer.  Note the file name and the location they are saved. Beware of pop-up blocker preventing this action (temporarily allow popups on blocker menu bar, then repeat this step).
6.  Open Refworks from UNMC homepage or use group code and login with username and passoword
7.  In Refworks, hover on “References” dropdown and select “Import”
8.  Make sure “Import Filter/Data Source” is NLM/PubMed and “Database” is PubMed.  You can also select a folder to import the file directly into if you wish.
9.  Browse your computer files for the PubMed results text file you saved from PubMed above.
10.  Click “Import” button.
NLM PubMed PubMed

EBSCOhost Databases

(see "RefWorks Basic Training" guide for detailed instructions with screen shots.)

1.  Run your search
2.  Click “add to folder” below each citation you wish to import to add them to your folder.
3.  When finished click on “folder view” in the right sidebar under "folder has items" to view citations in your folder.
4.  Put a check in the box of each item you wish to import or check “select all” box.
5.  Click “export” icon.
6.  Under “Save citations to a file formatted for”, select “Direct Export to Refworks”.  Click “Save.  You may wish to select “delete references from folder after exporting” if you want a clear folder for your next search.
7.  If not already open, a new RefWorks window should open.  Log in to RefWorks and the records will begin importing.  You don’t get the option of putting them in a special folder until the file is imported
8. If EBSCOhost's direct export isn't working, see work-around methods described at http://www.unmc.edu/library/refworks/directexportfailure.htm
 EBSCOhost  Database you are using (CINAHL, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, etc.)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
1. In a Cochrane results list, check the items you want to export.
2. click the "export selected ciations" button at the bottom of the screen.
3.Select export type as "citation and abstract" and file type is "PC" if you are using a PC and "Macintosh" if you are on a Mac..
4. A popup will come up and you choose to "save" the file. Remember where you saved it and the filename. Make sure you are saving it as "text".
5. Then go to Refworks and click the "References" tab and select "import".
6. You have to choose the Import filter as "Cochrane Library" and then pick the databse (usually, this will be systematic reviews, unless you are exporting some other thing like a clinical trial - note the tab in Cochrane where you found the item). Select the folder you want it to go in to. Then you select the file you are importing with the "browse" button. Then hit the "import" button at the bottom.
The Cochrane Library (under "T") Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (or the database indicated by tabbed results)
Web of Science
1. Check the boxes in front of the records you wish to export.
2. Use the "Add to Marked List" button on the right-hand side of the page.
3. Click the "Marked List" button at the top of the page.
4. In the "Step 1" box, select the fields you wish to include in the exported records. Be sure to include the "Document type" and the "ISSN."
5. In the "Step 2" box, select the "Field Tagged" format next to the "Save to File" button and then click on the "Save to File" button.

*Note where you are saving the file and give the file a name you will be able to remember before saving.

ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) Web of Knowledge
FirstSearch Databases
1. Check the boxes in front of the records you wish to export.
2. Click on the "Export" icon above the result list.
3. In the "Export" field, indicate whether you wish to export all records on the page (1-10) or whether you only wish to export the selected records.
4. In the "Export to" field, select "RefWorks."
5. Click the "Export" button. A direct export to Refworks should occur.
6. If the direct export doesn't work, click on "Text" in the "Export to" field.

*Note where you are saving the file and give the file a name you will be able to remember before saving.

OCLC FirstSearch Select the database you used from the list of database shown after you select the "OCLC FirstSearch" data source.
PrimateLit
1. Check the boxes in front of the records you wish to export.
2. Click the "Saved Records" button at the top of the page.
3. From the "Format" drop-down menu, select "PrimateLit,."
4. From the "Disposition" drop-down menu, select "Print/Save."
5. Select "save As" from your internet browser's "File" menu.
6. From the "Save" dialog box's "Save as type" drop-down menu, select ".txt."

*Note where you are saving the file and give the file a name you will be able to remember before saving.

RIS Format RIS Format
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
1. Check the boxes in front of the records you wish to export or, to select all records on a page, click on "Mark" "all on page" link. Continue to the next step when selecting records from entire result list.
2. Click the "Save, Print, Email " link.
3. Click on the "Export to RefWokrs" button on the page that appears.
4. If the RefWorks log-in page doesn't appear, you will need to click on the CSA "click here" link
5. Log into your RefWorks account.
6. The references should be imported automatically.
   
SciFinder Plus
1. Check the boxes in front of the records you wish to export.
2. Click the "export" link on the right side of the result list header.
3. An "Export" dialog box will appear.
4. Enter a name for the file that you will be saving on your computer.
5.  Use the "File Type" drop-down menu to select "Tagged format, *.txt"
6.  Click on the "Export" button.
7.  A save or download dialog box will appear.  Proceed as necessary to download the file to your computer.  Be sure to note where you are saving your file.
5. Then go to your Refworks account, use the "References" menu to select "import".
6. From the "Import filter" drop-down, choose "CAS SciFinder".   Then pick the database "Multiple Databases"
7.  Use the "Browse" button to locate and open the saved file (from step 7)
8.  Click the "Import" button
CAS SciFinder Multiple Databases
Helix (the Library's online catalog)
1. Check the boxes in front of the records you wish to export.
2. Click on the "Save Marked Records" button
3. Click on "View Saved" button
4. Click on "EndNote/RefWorks" radiobutton
5. Click on "Local Disk" radiobutton
6. Click on "Save" button in box that appears

*Note where you are saving the file and give the file a name you will be able to remember before saving.

University of Nebraska Medical Center

Helix EndNote/
RefWorks format

Google Scholar
1. Go to Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/)
2. Use Google Scholar's preferences link to reach Scholar customization page. In "Bibiography Manager" section, select "Show links to Import Citations into RefWorks."
3. Click on the "Save Preferences" button.
4. When viewing Google Scholar search results, use "Import into Refworks" link to save a record in RefWorks.
5. After you login to your account, the reference will appear in an editing screen.
6. Review the record, edit as needed, and then click on the "Save Reference" button.
   
HubMed (Humbed can be used to find PubMed records for all references in an electronic reference list)
1. Go to HubMed at http://www.hubmed.org
2. Click on the "Citation Finder" link
3. Paste your reference list into the box.
4. Click the "Submit" button.
5. Agree or disagree with the splitting of the references
6. Revise unmatched citations or delete (if not a reference to a journal article)
7. Click the "Done" button (repeat until HubMed records appear).
8. Select records for export.
9. Click the "Export Citations" button
10. Click on the "RIS (e.g. for EndNote)" link.
11. A "File Download" dialog box should appear. You may have to select records and hit the "Export Citations" box a couple times before this happens.

*Note where you are saving the file and give the file a name you will be able to remember before saving.

RIS Format RIS Format

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait