U.S. Federal Statistics
- American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en - This site contains info about the Census 2000 and 1990 as well as the 2002 Economic Census and the American Community Survey information.
- AmeriStat
http://www.prb.org/ - This site gives statistical data on family, race, education, poverty, ethnicity, children, mortality, etc. for the U.S. population. Features such as summaries and charts and links to sites like the National Center for Health Statistics and the Census Bureau are included.
- Census Category, Electronic Library
http://www.nlc.state.ne.us/bestofweb/census.asp - This site from the Nebraska Library Commission gives information on maps, Census Bureau sites and historical data.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
http://www.cdc.gov/ - "Data & Statistics" menu provides access to reports and statistics prepared by the CDC on topics such as environmental health, HIV/AIDS, cancer, sexually transmitted diseases, tuberculosis, and behavioral risk factors.
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Statistics & Data Page
http://cms.hhs.gov/researchers/statsdata.asp - Administrative data about Medicare and Medicaid provider institutions and healthcare spending; statistical data about persons covered these programs and their use of healthcare services.
-
- Research Data Assistance Center (ResDAC)
http://www.resdac.umn.edu/ under contract with CMS, provides assistance to those using Medicare/Medicaid data for their research. A service of University of Minnesota, Boston University, and Dartmouth College.
- Research Data Assistance Center (ResDAC)
- CDC WONDER
http://wonder.cdc.gov/ - CDC WONDER provides access to reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data including census data, morbidity and mortality.
- Department of Health and Human Services. Research and Data Provided by HHS.
http://aspe.hhs.gov/statinfo/ - Information generated by the various agencies which make up the DHHS. Categories of information include program evaluation and policy research, biomedical research, and health services research.
- Disability Statistics Center
http://dsc.ucsf.edu/main.php?name=finding_data - Primarily funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR), this searchable site's purpose is "...to produce and disseminate statistical information on disability and the status of people with disabilities in American Society and to establish and monitor indicators of how conditions are changing over time to meet their health, housing, economic and social needs." It includes links to FAQ's, publications, related sites, and contact information.
- FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov/ - Convenient access to the statistics produced by over 70 U.S. Federal Government agencies; browse A to Z listing or search by keyword; extensive list of links to federal agencies which provide statistics; follow the links for "Programs" then "Health" for an annotated guide with links to U.S. Government agencies collecting healthcare statistics.
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
http://hcup.ahrq.gov/HCUPnet.asp - HCUPnet, part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, offers national statistical information about hospital stays, and assists visitors in navigating their site step-by-step in order to find the data needed.
- Most Common Diagnoses and Procedures in U.S. Community Hospitals, 1996
http://www.hcup-us.ahrq.gov/reports/natstats.jsp
This report provides information on inhospital mortality and mean and median length of stay as well as total charges. Such information is used to evaluate procedures and the diagnoses associated with them and the various types of treatments used for particular diagnoses.
- Most Common Diagnoses and Procedures in U.S. Community Hospitals, 1996
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/ - The Centers for Disease Control publishes the MMWR Weekly, Recommendations and Reports, Surveillance Summaries, Supplements, Summary of Notifiable Diseases, and Emerging Infectious Diseases. Full-text is available. Examples of topics covered include lead level epidemiology, public opinion about health, adverse ocular reactions following transfusions, current guidelines for treatment of sexually transmitted diseases. The data in the weekly MMWR are provisional, based on weekly reports to CDC by state health departments. A searchable INDEX of MMWR publications from 1993 on is available (requires forms-capable browser).
- National Center for Health Statistics
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/ - The NCHS is the primary U. S. Federal Government organization responsible for the collection, analyses, and dissemination of health statistics. Browse publications and statistical tables, download selected public-use data files, conduct on-line database searches in CDC Wonder.
- Health, United States
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm
This resource is an annual report on national trends in health statistics.
- Health, United States
- NCI Data Book
http://www3.cancer.gov/admin/fmb/index.html - From the National Cancer Institute, this resource gives information on the budget, cancer stats, extramural data, and historical trends.
- U. S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/ - Statistics compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau including, but not limited to, healthcare related statistics. Economic and demographic statistics are well represented. Examples of statistics available include health insurance coverage of children, growth rate of the elderly population, fertility, disability, poverty, etc. Browse the index or search by keyword. Links to statistics provided by other U.S. government agencies are provided.
- American Factfinder [http://factfinder.census.gov/] provides quick access to population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
- Tables in the annual Statistical Abstract of the United States [http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/] are not included in the Census Bureau search index. This publication can be viewed online in PDF format (requires free Adobe Acrobat Reader software); a print copy is available in the Library Ready Reference bookcase behind the Reference desk (HA 202 U5). View the index, note the table numbers, then refer to specific tables for data.
- H-CUPnet
http://hcup.ahrq.org/ - A free, on-line query system based on HCUP data - provides access to health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and State level.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait