Association DirectoriesPharmacy CompaniesPharmacy/Drug Website ListsProviders/Support Groups
Adverse EffectsBreastfeeding and PregnancyForeign DrugsPharmacy Practice
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

UNMC College of Pharmacy Library Guide 

Last update: Aug 28th, 2009 URL: http://unmc.libguides.com/cop  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Patient Education            Print Page
  

Patient-Oriented, Drug Information

  • Freely Available, Drug and Alternative Medicine Databases  
    Click on the "Online Drug Information" tab and scroll down to the "Freely Available ..." database list. A short statement next to each web site name indicates whether professional- and/or consumer-oriented information is available at the site.
  • Clinical Pharmacology  
    Available to UNMC/TNMC-affiliated users only. Clinical Pharmacology provides patient-oriented, drug information and patient-oriented, drug interaction information. Click on the "Patient Education" menu or the "Reports" menu.
  • MICROMEDEX Care Notes  
    Available to UNMC/TNMC-affiliated users only. The MICROMEDEX Care Notes System provides patient-oriented, drug and disease information. Click on the "Patient Education" tab to access the "Care Notes System."

Patient Oriented, Health/Disease Information

  • DynaMed  
    DynaMed is only available to UNMC/TNMC-affiliated users. Most DynaMed "topics" include links to one or more consumer-oriented handouts.
  • MICROMEDEX Care Note  
    MICROMEDEX is only available to UNMC/TNMC-affiliated users. The MICROMEDEX Care Notes System provides patient-oriented, drug and disease information. Click on the "Patient Education" tab to access the "Care Notes System."
  • UpToDate  
    UpToDate is only available on-campus. Many patient information handouts are available through UpToDate.
  • MedlinePlus  
    MedlinePlus was developed by the National Library of Medicine to provide consumer health information. The site includes guides to health topics, as well as drug information, dictionaries, directories, and information on organizations.
  • eMedicine  
    eMedicine covers a wide variety of diseases and health issues. Both patient-oriented and professional-level reviews are available. Free registration is required. Additional patient-level information is available at http://www.emedicinehealth.com.
  • Healthfinder.gov  
    Healthfinder was developed by the U.S. Health and Human Services Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion in collaboration with other government agencies. It's mission is to serve as a gateway to consumer health and human services information.
  • Intelihealth  
    Intelihealth offers a variety of consumer-oriented services and information. The drug information sheet content is from MICROMEDEX. The"Index of Herbal Medicines and Supplements" provides a large number of thoughtful, well-organized, monographs.
  • New York Online Access to Health  
    NOAH provides links to consumer health information and is produced and maintained by the librarians of the New York Public Library.
  • WebMD  
    Consumer level, drug information sheets, disease information sheets, drug news, and other consumer-targeted services.
 

Liaison to COP

Profile ImageCindy Schmidt
Contact Info:
Cindy Schmidt, M.D., M.L.S.
Reference Librarian
Phone: 402-559-7077 or toll free 1-866-800-5209
e-mail: cmschmidt@unmc.edu
Wittson Hall Rm 6006
986705 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6705
Send Email

Subjects:
Liaison to COP

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait