Association DirectoriesPharmacy CompaniesPharmacy/Drug Website ListsProviders/Support Groups
Adverse EffectsBreastfeeding and PregnancyForeign DrugsPharmacy Practice
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

UNMC College of Pharmacy Library Guide 

Last update: Aug 28th, 2009 URL: http://unmc.libguides.com/cop  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Online Drug Information            Print Page
  
 

Freely Available, Drug Information Resources

Warning: Although all of these sites include freely available content many of these sites sell advertising space, and a few provide shopping and subscription "opportunities."


Drug Digest -- consumer level information
http://www.drugdigest.org

  • consumer information sheets from Gold Standard
  • consumer level, disease information sheets
  • drug interactions checker and drug comparison tools
  • drug image database searchable by drug name (limited number of drugs included)
  • herb and supplement information

Drug Prescribing in Renal Failure -- professional level information
http://www.kdp-baptist.louisville.edu/renalbook/

  • Provides dosing guidelines for childrens and adults

DrugBank -- professional level information
http://redpoll.pharmacy.ualberta.ca/drugbank/

  • lists alternate names for each drug
  • provides each drug's formula, 2-D structural diagram, and rotatable 3-D structural diagram
  • provides each drug's PubChem, CAS Registry, KEGG Compound, etc. numbers
  • lists physical properties of each drug
  • provides links to clinical information and the FDA label for each drug
  • provides the protein sequence of the drug's target and information about the target's function
  • provides drug target SNPs

Drugs.com -- professional and consumer level information
http://www.drugs.com

  • consumer information sheets in English and Spanish and "advanced consumer information." Information is from MedFacts, Cerner Multum, PDR, and MICROMEDEX
  • consumer level, disease information sheets
  • heavily referenced professional level monographs
  • drug interactions checker.
  • drug image database searchable by drug name (limited number of drugs included)
  • pill identifier, searchable by imprint code and color and shape of pill (limited number of drugs included)
  • new drug approvals and applications
  • medical encyclopedia and dictionary

DrugFacts -- professional level information
http://www.factsandcomparisons.com/

  • "Interaction Alert" from Facts & Comparisons
  • "Drug News" including news concerning the FDA, new drug approvals, changes in drug information, and immunization recommendations.
  • most resources linked to this site are accessible to fee-paying subscribers only.

GlobalRPh -- professional level
http://www.globalrph.com

  • Website created and maintained by David F. McAuley, Pharm.D., R.Ph.
  • Provides access to useful calculators.
  • Also provides access to databases of recommended therapies for infectious diseases (referenced), recommended dilution methods, and recommended dosage adjustments for use with patients with renal impairment.
  • A wide variety of additional information is available.

InteliHealth -- professional and consumer level
http://www.intelihealth.com/IH/ihtIH/WSIHW000/8124/8124.html

  • patient information sheets obtained from ASHP.
  • "Index of Herbal Medicines and Supplements" includes herb and supplement monographs. References are provided and are relatively current.

MedlinePlus Drug Information -- consumer level
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginformation.html

  • Consumer level drug monographs from ASHP's MedMaster .

Medscape DrugInfo -- professional and consumer level
http://www.medscape.com/druginfo

  • drug monograph database based on information from First DataBank, ASHP, and FDA's Drug Alert service. Complete bibliographic information for cited works is provided in linked pop-up boxes.
  • drug interaction checker.
  • patient handouts from First DataBank.
  • Medscape requires free registration.

RxList.com -- professional and consumer level
http://www.rxlist.com

  • professional-level drug monographs
  • a few consumer-oriented, alternative medicine information sheets-- click on "Alternative Medicines" link to the right of the search box.
  • patient information sheets for many drugs. Search for the drug of interest, click on the link to the professional-level monograph, and then look in the left-hand margin for the link to "Patient Information."
  • imprint code and NDC code searches through the "Pill Identifier" screen.
  • access to an online dictionary of medical terms and abbreviations .

Rxmed -- professional level
http://www.rxmed.com/

  • a browsable collection of pharmaceutical monographs that includes information on some prescription and nonprescription drugs, formulas, ointments, etc.
  • a browsable collection of herbal medicine and dietary supplement monographs.
  • a collection of disease information sheets is also available.

WebMD -- consumer level
http://my.webmd.com/medical_information/drug_and_herb/default.htm

  • consumer level, drug information sheets (from First DataBank)
  • drug news
  • disease information
  • other consumer-targeted services.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Liaison to COP

Profile ImageCindy Schmidt
Contact Info:
Cindy Schmidt, M.D., M.L.S.
Reference Librarian
Phone: 402-559-7077 or toll free 1-866-800-5209
e-mail: cmschmidt@unmc.edu
Wittson Hall Rm 6006
986705 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6705
Send Email

Subjects:
Liaison to COP

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait