Resources that Critique or Grade the Available Evidence
- ACP PIER ACP PIER outlines and provides strength of evidence information for each prevention, work-up and treatment option presented. PIER also provides list of recent FDA alerts and recent articles of interest for each condition covered.
- AHRQ Research Reviews The AHRQ Reviews cover a limited number of topics in the areas of diabetes, cancer, GI disorders, cardiovascular disorders, mental health, and orthopedics, The studies reviewed range from single, small studies to systematic reviews with meta-analyses.
- Best BETs Best BETs covers topics of interest to Emergency Medicine specialists. Authors attempt to provide systematic reviews with comments on the quality of the available evidence.
- Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library includes The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Health Technology Assessment Database, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database
- Drug-Effectiveness Review Project DERP reviews cover therapeutic efficacy and cost-effectiveness of an ever increasing number of pharmacologic therapies.
- Dynamed
Outlines prevention, diagnosis and treatment options. Best-available evidence is used. When possible, evidence is graded. - National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) Technology Appraisals (United Kingdom) NICE has reviewed the available evidence on benefit and cost for a wide range of therapeutic interventions, health promotion activities, and diagnostic techniques and provided guidance documents intended for use by the UK's National Health Service.
- National Practice Guideline Clearinghouse Many, but not all, of the guidelines available at ngc.gov critique or grade the available evidence.
- PubMed Records for Meta-Analyses Click the link above to retrieve PubMed records for meta-analyses. To retrieve PubMed records for meta-analyses focusing on a specific topic, add your topical terms to the search box and hit "Go."
- PubMed Records for Systematic Reviews, Meta-anlayses, and Practice Guidelines Click the link above to retrieve PubMed records. To retrieve PubMed records focused on a specific topic, add your topical terms to the search box and hit "Go."
Tutorials and Manuals
- Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine The Centre provides free downloads of several EBM tools and some of the powerpoints used in their EBM workshops. The website also provides links to some notable examples of EBM research.
- JAMA Evidence formerly known as User Guides Interactive Access is available through a free trial that ends on 4/4/2009. Click on Users' Guides button to reach the Users' Guides homepage.
- McGoogan Library's Evidence-based Medicine Webpage
- Using MeSH to Search PubMed/MEDLINE An online tutorial (only UNMC-affiliated users can link to PubMed from within the tutorial)
- Keyword Searching in International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) An online tutorial (only UNMC-affiliated users can link to IPA from within the tutorial)
Additional, COP Faculty-Recommended eBooks
Liaison to COP |
Cindy SchmidtContact Info:
Cindy Schmidt, M.D., M.L.S.
Reference Librarian
Phone: 402-559-7077 or toll free 1-866-800-5209
e-mail: cmschmidt@unmc.edu
Wittson Hall Rm 6006
986705 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6705
Send Email
Subjects:
Liaison to COP
Cindy Schmidt, M.D., M.L.S.
Reference Librarian
Phone: 402-559-7077 or toll free 1-866-800-5209
e-mail: cmschmidt@unmc.edu
Wittson Hall Rm 6006
986705 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6705
Send Email
Subjects:
Liaison to COP
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait