Online Databases
The following databases provide online access to a varity of publications including journal articles. Each databases typically addresses a particular subject area. Since Nursing is a multi-disciplinary field it is recommended that you search both MEDLINE and CINAHL for more comprehensive search results. However, be prepared to encounter duplicate records for some journals which are indexed in both databases.
If your topic is dealing with a psychological or psychosocial issue make sure to also search PsychInfo. The search interface is the same as CINAHL and MEDLINE via EBSCO.
If you have problems searching these databases click on Help Guides. From this site you will find print materials as well as Flash videos on many of the online resources available from the library.
Click on HELP if you need additional assistance or prefer to talk to a librarian on the phone, via email, or personally at the library.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health)
A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981. - Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world’s best medical research studies.
- ERIC-Education Resources Information Center ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
- Medline via PubMed
You first stop for searching the peer-reviewed literature in medicine and allied health through the user-friendly NLM/NIH PubMed website. Access through the UNMC website or the above link allows access to the McGoogan Library journal collection. - Medline via EBSCOhost
You may also search the Medline database via an EBSCOhost interface. Off-campus access will require log-in to our proxy server using your Lotus Notes username and password. - PsycInfo
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating back to the 1800s. Journal coverage from 1987 to present and peer-reviewed. - Web of Science
Web of Science is an excellent way to search for peer-reviewed medical literature in all areas of health and medicine that also allows you to search for citation information - who cited who or how many times an article has been cited in the database.
Nursing Liaison |
McGoogan Library of Medicine
University of Nebraska Medical Center
986705 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6705
Phone: 402-559-6221
Toll-free: 1-866-800-5209
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait