A
- AACR Cancer Prevention Journals Portal
- AbleData
- AccessMedicine
- AccessMedicine MobileAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website.
- AccessPharmacy
- AccessPharmacy MobileAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website.
- Agelit
- AGRICOLA
- AgroMedicine
- AHFS Drug Information
- AHRQ EPC Evidence Reports
- AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts
- AIDSinfo
- Allied Health ResourcesSchool of Allied Health library guide
- ArticleFirstVia FirstSearch
- Author InstructionsThese pages provide links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences.
- Author Rights
Comments (0)
B
- Behavioral Health Workshop
- Binding Theses/Dissertations
- Biography Reference Bank
- Biological Sciences from CSA
- Biomedical Informatics
- Biomedical Reference Center ComprehensiveFull-text database via EBSCOhost
- Biotechnology and Bioengineering AbstractsVia CSA
- Blackboard
- Blackboard MobileSelect your device on this website to view download instructions. During setup of the app, search for "University of Nebraska Medical Center," not UNMC, to configure your settings. Contact the ITS Help Desk with any questions at 402-559-7700.
- Blackboard-How To Link Articles
- Books in Print With ReviewsOn Campus Only
- Browser SettingsRecommended settings for accessing library resources across different browsers.
C
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- Campus Account RequestFor UNMC volunteer faculty to apply for UNMC Net ID
- CardiosourceIndividual registration required. JACC journals not included.
- CARE (Campus Records)For UNMC students
- Catalog of the United States Government Publications (MOCAT)via FirstSearch
- CDC Wonder
- Change UNMC Net ID Password
- Chemical Abstracts- SciFinder ScholarInstructions for and accessing SciFinder Scholar
- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS)
- ChemID Plus
- Children's Hospital & Medical Center OmahaServices provided by the McGoogan Library
- CHIRS (Consumer Health Information Resources)
- CINAHL Ebooks
- CINAHL SearchingA help guide
- CINAHL with Full Text
- CINAHL with Full Text MobileAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website. Only EBSCO based full text is available.
- Citation SearchingA help guide to find out who is citing whom
- Citing References
- Clinical Pharmacology
- Clinical Pharmacology MobileTo access Clinical Pharmacology Mobile, you must first obtain a promo code and instructions from the Reference Desk. Submit your UNMC email address in this form to receive the download code. You will receive within one business day. These codes expire each February, the renewal month of the library's license. New codes can be obtained at that time. To activate a code, go to https://secure.goldstandard.com/subscribe/. After activation, if you do not already have an account, you will be prompted to create a username and password,Also available to TNMC.
- Clinical Trials
- Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library searching - a help guideA help guide
- College of Dentistry library guide
- College of Medicine library guide
- College of Nursing Library Guide
- College of Pharmacy library guide
- College of Public Health library guide
- Communication AbstractsVia CSA
- Computer and Information Systems AbstractsVia CSA
- Computing Clusters
- Conference Papers IndexVia CSA
- Copyright Information Resources
- CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects)CRISP has been retired and has been replaced by RePORTER,
- CSA Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
- CSA Materials Research Database with Metadex
D
- Daily MedThis resource includes FDA labels (package inserts)
- Dental Hygiene Resources
- Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source
- Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source MobileAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website.
- Dentistry ResourcesCollege of Dentistry library guide
- Dictionary, Stedman's Medical
- Dietary SupplementsThe PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset succeeds the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database. The subset is designed to limit search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.
- Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseInformation about label ingredients in more than 5,000 selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to compare label ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the "structure/function" claims made by manufacturers.
- DirectoriesMedlinePlus provides links to directories to help you find libraries, health professionals, services and facilities.
- DIRLINE: Directory of Health Care OrganizationsContains location and descriptive information about a wide variety of information resources including organizations, research resources, projects, and databases concerned with health and biomedicine.
- Disaster Information Management Research CenterThis site provides access to many diverse resources, which are useful for disaster and emergency readiness, response, and recovery. Information coverage includes bioterrorism, chemical emergencies, fires, geological events such as earthquakes, volcanoes, tsunamis, landslides and mudslides, pandemic disease outbreaks such as H1N1, radiation emergencies, and weather.
- Dissertation and Theses BindingHave you completed your dissertation or thesis? Find out here how to get it bound.
- Dissertation SearchingUse these resources to locate dissertations.
- Dissertations: WorldCat DissertationsThis database contains listings of all dissertations and theses cataloged by libraries across the country and world.
- Distance Education Library Information
- DNP (Doctor of Nursing Practice) Library Guide
- DOAJ- Directory of Open Access Journals
- DOI - How to find
- DOI LookupMust have the full citation of the article to search for its DOI.
- Drugs/Pharmacology/Pharmacy ResourcesCollege of Pharmacy library guide
- DynaMed
- DynaMed Mobile AppContact the Reference Desk for the required serial number (askus@unmc.edu, 402-559-6221, text 402-370-5016). Available for use on iPhone, iPod Touch, BlackBerry, Android, Palm, PocketPC, and Windows smartphone devices. Also available to TNMC and Bellevue Med Center. Code can now be used on multiple devices.
E
- Ebooks at UNMCInformation on the ins and outs of accessing Ebooks at UNMC
- EBSCOHost
- Electronic JournalsEjournals in the McGoogan Library collection
- Embase
- Embase searching - a help guide
- eMedicineOne time free registration required. Now called Medscape.
- eMedicine mobile appThis app can be downloaded through your device's app store. Free registration is required. Now called Medscape.
- Eppley Research Institute Resources
- ERICVia Dept of Education
- ERICVia FirstSearch
- Evidence Based Medicine Resources
- Evidence Based Practice Resources for Nurses NRSG 386
- ExamMaster
F
- First Aid Medical Review BooksMcGraw-Hill First Aid Test Prep collection
- FirstConsult
- First Consult AppCreate an account in Clinical Key (linked here). Access the iPhone App Store and search for and download First Consult. When accessing the app, enter your Clinical Key username and password at the prompt. Please note that in order for your Clinical Key account to remain active, you must log into the account via the library’s website on a desktop or laptop computer at least once every three months.
- FirstSearch Databases
- Following the Clues: A Visit to the Doctor and the LibraryA short film for children and their parents about going to the doctor and then to the library to find health information. It is narrated in English, Spanish, and Sudanese-Nuer.
- Full-text linkingLearn how to link library subscribed articles and e-books for use in Blackboard and journal clubs.
G
- GatewayNLM Gateway
- Google Scholar
- Google Scholar Settings for UNMCLink to library full-text and import citations into Refworks, all when searching Google Scholar.
- Government Resources
- Grant Resources
- GreenFile
H
- H-index
- H1N1 Resources
- Harrison's OnlineVia AccessMedicine
- Health Business Full Text Elite
- Health Business Fulltext Elite MobileAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website. Only EBSCO based full-text is available.
- Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj)A database providing access to ongoing grants and contracts in health services research. It contains descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts for use by policy makers, managers, clinicians and other decision makers.
- High School Alliance Resources
I
- Image Sources
- Impact FactorsJournal Citation Reports (JCR)
- INBRE Library Resources
- Influenza/H1N1 Resources
- Informatics, Biomedical
- Information Technology Services (ITS)UNMC campus
- Institutional Review Board (IRB)UNMC campus
- International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)The PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset succeeds the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database. The subset is designed to limit search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.
- International Visitors - Educational Use of Library Resources (PDF)
- Interprofessional Education (IPE) Portal
- iPad Guide for UNMC Users
J
- Joanna Briggs Institute Best PracticesThe library does not subscribe to this resource, but limited free full-text is available.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
- JSTOR
K
- K-12 TeachersScience career resources
L
- LactMedA peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
- LDAP Requesting an account
- LexicompThe library has access to portions of Lexicomp through UpToDate. Included are basic drug monographs, a drug interactions builder, and patient education.
- Lexicomp UNMC Discount ProgramDiscounted pricing for self-purchase of Lexicomp
- Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
- Library Orientation
- Linking to Full Text Articles and E-booksLearn how to link library subscribed articles and e-books for use in Blackboard and journal clubs.
- LocatorPlus
M
- Master of Public Health Library Resources
- McGoogan Docs Tutorial
- Mechanical Engineering AbstractsVia CSA
- Medical Images on the Web
- Medical Student Resources
- MEDLINE (PubMed)
- MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO)
- MEDLINE EBSCO SearchingA help guide
- MEDLINE Mobile Via EBSCOhostAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website. Only EBSCO based full text is available.
- MEDLINE Mobile Via PubMedOnly open access full-text is available.
- MEDLINE PubMed SearchingA help guide
- MedlinePlusFor patients and their families and friends, this site contains information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
- MedscapeOne time free registration required. Formerly emedicine.
- Medscape mobile appThis app can be downloaded through your device's app store. Free registration is required. Formerly called eMedicine.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintMental Measurements Yearbook "provides the full-text reviews of tests, whereas Tests in Print provides current information and availability."
- MICROMEDEX AppsIncludes Drug Interaction and IV Compatibility apps. Once in the site, click Mobile, which is next to the MICROMEDEX 2.0 title. In the "Micromedex on Apple and Android devices" section, follow the instructions and obtain the password for this app. Note: In the iTunes App Store, download the FREE version. Also available to TNMC.
- MICROMEDEX MobileSpecial Password Required. The id/password changes quarterly, so you will have to revisit the password page to get new information - January 1, April 1, July 1, September 1. Also available to TNMC.
- MICROMEDEX Off-campusOff-campus access to MICROMEDEX now requires a special username and password. Find that information here.
- MICROMEDEX
- Mobile resources and apps
- My NCBI TutorialBy creating a My NCBI account, you can keep track of PubMed search strategies and article citation collections. If you are an eRA commons user, My NCBI is your portal to eRA commons.
N
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
- National Library of Medicine Databases
- National Library of Medicine: LOCATORPLUS
- National Network of Libraries of Medicine
- NCBI BookshelfBookshelf is an online searchable collection of more than 500 books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in biology, medicine, and the life sciences.
- NCI-3D
- Nebraska Health ProfessionalsLibrary services for health professionals in Nebraska that are not affiliated with UNMC.
- Nebraska Medical Center Library Resources
- Nebraska Publications Clearinghouse
- NebraskAccess
- Neuroscience Information Framework
- Neurosciences Abstracts, CSA
- NIH Public Access Policy Toolkit
- NLM Gateway"One-stop searching" for many of NLM's information resources or databases. Fact sheet
- NLM Style Guide
- NRSG 316/386
- NRSG 602
- NU Personnel RosterThe Roster lists salary information for employees of UNL,UNO,UNK and UNMC.
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection: ComprehensiveFull-text database via EBSCOhost
- Nursing ResourcesCollege of Nursing library guide
O
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)A catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with links to literature references, sequence records, maps, and related databases. It is based on the book, Mendelian Inheritance in Man.
- Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
P
- PAIS ArchiveVia CSA
- PAIS InternationalVia CSA
- Password Protected JournalsA listing of special usernames and passwords that are required to access certain online journals.
- Passwords for Volunteer Faculty
- PBL Resources
- PEDroPEDro is a free database of over 20,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
- Pharmacy/Pharmacology/Drug ResourcesCollege of Pharmacy library guide
- Physical Education IndexVia CSA
- Physician salaries and compensation
- PILOTS databaseVia CSA
- Plagiarism
- Plant ScienceVia CSA
- Point of Care Resources - Library Guide
- Practice Guideline Clearinghouse
- Practice GuidelinesAdditional Clinical Guidelines
- Preceptors-Educational Use of Library Resources
- PrimateLitSelect 'UNMC' on Institutional Affiliation for full text access
- Procedures Consult
- Proceedings FirstVia FirstSearch
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionFull-text database via EBSCOhost
- PsycINFO
- PsycINFO MobileAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website. Only EBSCO based full-text is available.
- PsycINFO SearchingA help guide
- Public HealthCollege of Public Health library guide
- PubMed Provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. UNMC Full-text (when available) can be found via the GetIt@UNMC buttons in the abstract view.
- PubMed HealthSpecializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.
- PubMed MobileOnly open access full-text is available.
- PubMed Searching- A Quick Picture GuideBasic PubMed searching
- PubMed Tips and TrainingAdvanced PubMed searching and customizations
R
- Radiolog and Radiography Searche Strategies
- ReAL Collaborative
- RefWorksgroup code required off campus
- RefWorks Group Code
- RefWorks MobileA RefWorks account is required. The group code may also be necessary for access.
- RefWorks Tips Tricks and Guides
- Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO) Guidelines
- RePORTER: Research Portfolio Online Reporting ToolReplaced the CRISP database.
- Research NebraskaResearch experts in Nebraska
- Residency ResourcesInformation regarding searching for and applying to residency programs.
- RoMEOUse this site to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.
- RSS for search updatesLearn how to use RSS to keep track of new results in PubMed and EBSCO searches.
S
- Safety Science and RiskVia CSA
- School of Allied Health Professions library guide
- ScienceDirect
- ScienceDirect mobile appPersonalized ScienceDirect account required for access to the library's subscribed journals.
- SciFinder MobileAccess to SciFinder requires a personal user registration. If you already have a username and password for this resource, it will work for the mobile site.
- SciFinder ScholarAccess to SciFinder requires a personal user registration.
- SciVal ExpertsResearch experts in Nebraska
- SciVal Funding
- Scopus
- Scopus Basic Searching - a help guide
- Social Services AbstractsVia CSA
- Sociological AbstractsVia CSA
- Spanish Medical Translator
- SpringerProtocols
- SpringerProtocols MobileTo access on a mobile device, you must create a personal account by accessing SpringerProtocols from the library's main website.
- STAT!Ref
- STAT!Ref AppPersonalized account must be created on the desktop version of this resource. You must renew your account every 90 days in order to access the app.
- STAT!Ref MobileAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website.
- Statistical Resources
- Stedman's Medical Dictionary
- Swine Flu Resources
- Systematic Review Resources and Service
T
- Tests In PrintNow combined with Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Thesaurus.com
- Thesis/Dissertation Binding
- Thieme Clinical Library
- TOXNETA cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. Databases include Hazardous Substances Data Bank, Integrated Risk Information System, International Toxicity Estimates for Risk, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, Genetic Toxicology, Household Products Database, Haz-Map, TOXMAP, LactMed, Carcinogenic Potency Database, TOXLINE, Development and Reproductive Toxicology/Environmental Teratology Information Center, & ChemIDplus.
U
- UpToDateAccessible with a UNMC Net ID. Also available on the library's mobile website.
W
- Who's Writing at UNMC
- Wilson Biographies Plus
- Wilson OmniFile
- WorldCatOpen access
- WorldCatVia FirstSearch
- Writing and Citing7 Steps of Research Process | Plagiarism | Faculty Tools | AMA Style | APA Style | Citation Software
- Writing in the Health SciencesThese pages provide links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences.
Y
- Yellow BookThe Yellow Book is published every two years by CDC as a reference for those who advise international travelers about health risks. The Yellow Book is written primarily for health professionals, although others will find it useful.

Loading...
