This is the "Home" page of the "National Library of Medicine Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

National Library of Medicine Databases 

This LibGuide will act as a portal to the databases available through the National Library of Medicine
Last update: May 13th, 2009 URL: http://unmc.libguides.com/NLM  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

NLM Gateway / Specialized Information Services

See the tabs above for individual databases.

NLM Gateway web site; NLM Gateway fact sheet
The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple databases at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It allows users of NLM services to initiate searches from one Web interface, providing "one-stop searching" for many of NLM's information resources or databases. One target audience for the Gateway is the Internet user who is new to NLM's online resources and does not know what information is available there or how best to search for it. This audience may include physicians and other health care providers, researchers, librarians, students, and increasingly, patients, their families, and the public. Other users may find the Gateway useful for an overall search of NLM's information resources. Some searchers may locate what they need immediately, while others will utilize the Gateway as an adjunct tool to other NLM search services such as PubMed® and MedlinePlus®. NOTE: PubMed results retrieved through NLM Gateway will not be interactive with UNMC’s McGoogan Library resources. If you want the most robust use of PubMed, please access it directly.

NLM SIS Home (Specialized Information Services Divison)  web site; NLM SIS fact sheet
The NLM SIS Homepage provides access to the individual databases provided by the National Library of Medicine. Searching Individual databases can be useful if you wish to persue more advanced searching in a single database than the Gateway federated search allows. A fairly exhaustive list of databases available through the NLM SIS page can be found under the tabs above. NOTE: PubMed results retrieved through NLM SIS Home will not be interactive with UNMC’s McGoogan Library resources. If you want the most robust use of PubMed, please access it directly from the main library page or the proxied link below.

 

Library Links

 

      
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait